How do I get the Digital Speedo onto my BA XR6 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Australian Falcons Discuss the australian born and bred models here. Includes the 80's 90's and present day Falcons offered by Ford Oz.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-24-03, 06:24 AM Thread Starter
XR6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Victoria
Posts: 25
How do I get the Digital Speedo onto my BA XR6

I just returned home from a mates place & one of the cops there said that the cop cars have a digital speedo located where the Odometer & Trip A & Trip B readout is.

He said they access the function by pressing the Mode button.

This does not work on my BA XR6.

Can someone PLEASE tell me if the BA XR6's have the digital speedo readout avaialble OR will I have to get a separate chip put in ?

Thanks

XR6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-24-03, 06:18 PM
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In a Dark Cave
Posts: 5,316
if it's anythng like the VT up commodes, then go to the ford dealer and tell them you want it on. With the commodes you can set it up to work as long as the car is running. Start it again and you have to change it again. During a service we got them to change it to 'police mode' and it stays on 24/7
xacoupe is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-25-03, 04:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 189
XA's right. Just take your car to your dealer and ask them to enable police mode on the Instrument Cluster.

GMH Technology:- Proof cave men do exist
FoMoCo:- Producing tomorrows technology today
FordTech65 is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-26-03, 12:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nth Qld
Posts: 29
How true is this? My BA Ghia is going in for its 15000km service on wednesday, can i ask them to enable this ?

Thanks
Joker is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-26-03, 02:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 189
Joker,
I'm not 100% sure that the fairmont(High series BA's)range has police mode configuration in the instrument cluster module(most police vehicles are Low series vehicles). Won't hurt to ask though. One point i must make though, When the police enable thier speedo to a digital reading they then calibrate them to make sure they are acurate. Most police BA's i've seen have a decal on the windscreen that states,"For speed related offences use the digital readout", or something to that effect.

GMH Technology:- Proof cave men do exist
FoMoCo:- Producing tomorrows technology today
FordTech65 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-26-03, 02:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nth Qld
Posts: 29
Thanks Fordtech65. I was thinking the same thing about the ghia's setup being pretty different from the XR's and so on. I'll still ask when it goes in on Wednesday. Cheers.
Joker is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-26-03, 02:38 AM
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
FordTech65

Was wondering what other Gizmos we can play with in the BA series regarding Control Display centre and such!
laminge is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-27-03, 05:22 AM
Registered User
 
SPALDING GREEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 326
All BA clusters are the same , it's just the lighting & appearance that differs.
SPALDING GREEN is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-27-03, 02:21 PM
My Neck Hurts....
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rutherford
Posts: 501
Someone else posted some details regarding other Module Changes you could make - regarding such things as the interior lights, how the horn barks when you lock it, and stuff like that.

If someone can confirm this 'Police Mode' function change, we need to have somewhere on this forum to store these 'upgrades' for future reference.

Moderators? Admins? Is there a place for stuff like this already?


Lukeyson
Luke Plaizier is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-27-03, 04:36 PM
SM
Registered User
 
SM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Coming round the Mountain
Posts: 1,245
The Tech Section can be used for this type of article.

Mess with the bull, get the horns!
SM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-03 06:12 PM
GoAuto tests BA ute FPRXR-6 Ford Ute Forum 2 07-31-03 04:03 PM
BA XR6 Impressions - Long XR6VCT Australian Falcons 25 11-16-02 06:55 PM
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-02 07:27 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome