4 speed auto - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-16-03, 03:07 AM Thread Starter
#FAIRMONT GHIA#
 
Brent-EA Ghia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW.
Age: 30
Posts: 216
confused 4 speed auto

is it possible to fit a 4 speed into my 88' EA fairmont ghia as it has a three speed and if this is possible what does it involve (extra parts, mods etc.)

Brent-EA Ghia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-16-03, 07:30 AM
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 33
Posts: 3,104
Re: 4 speed auto

It's possible, much easier to bolt in a manual though as the wiring is all the same.
Same price for the box, too!

Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-16-03, 05:43 PM
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 30
Posts: 2,893
Re: 4 speed auto

I have a 4 speed if you need one :s6:

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-19-03, 05:00 PM Thread Starter
#FAIRMONT GHIA#
 
Brent-EA Ghia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW.
Age: 30
Posts: 216
Im just gathering info at the moment as i have no funds, but ive got plenty of time as im putting another engine in the ghia as it seems as if it has a crack in the bore of cylinder no.1 and had whipped cream oil (in appearance) and water in the cylinder as well . And the interiors also out as its in my going car.
Brent-EA Ghia is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-20-03, 01:23 AM
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 33
Posts: 3,104
Re: 4 speed auto

To do a 4-speed the easiest way would be to replace the whole engine bay/dash loom - about a day's work. Otherwise you need to wire in all those wires for the computer and IMO it's not worth it.
Much easier to go the manual; straight drop-in and HEAPS better performance

Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 speed auto wanting to play Mister 3 speed CATman Trans | Driveline 13 08-15-03 04:13 AM
4 speed auto into xw. HELP! XTC-40L Trans | Driveline 5 08-15-03 03:53 AM
Will 4 speed auto bolt to 250 block? XB250 General Tech 5 04-02-03 02:52 AM
4 speed Auto Fluid Transfusion psproule Trans | Driveline 12 03-30-03 07:58 PM
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-03 09:13 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome