4 speed auto locked in "limp home mode" - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
View Poll Results: Has you had a 4sp auto lock in "limp home mode"?
no, never 25 59.52%
yes, but dealer fixed it quickly 4 9.52%
yes, ongoing but intermittent 9 21.43%
yes, never ending problems like this 4 9.52%
Voters: 42. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2003, 17:53   #1 (permalink)
re5mike
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
4 speed auto locked in "limp home mode"

Hi All, I have searched this forum and can find no reference to my XG ute with a 4sp auto locked in third gear (limp home mode).

Am I the only one who has experienced these problems???
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2003, 18:41   #2 (permalink)
wanna be burn out king
 
460cixy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: canberra australia
Age: 34
Posts: 965
my mates na fairlane has this problem but it has somthing to do with his gas converson he did him self and removed the ecu silly boy
460cixy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 20:54   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
tell me, does it happens in all weather conditions?
laminge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 02:34   #4 (permalink)
Formally Thomas
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 468
I had this happen to my EL XR8. It would happen every now and then but really frustrating thing. Took car to local dealer that found faulty solenoids in the tranny. had them replaced and it was sweet then
MKII240T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 04:26   #5 (permalink)
now with EF power!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rockhampton, QLD
Age: 28
Posts: 891
Check the earthing points.


Thanks


Dane.
__________________
1994 EF Falcon.
(4.0 Auto)


Mods List:
Kenwood head deck, Rockford Fosgate Punch Sub and Punch Amp....and hubcaps!!



My Gallery!
Proud TQE Operator
danege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 04:28   #6 (permalink)
E-Series Cameraman
 
The Goodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 1,388
I had this problem not long ago, ended up being a loose negative terminal. So yeah, check all your earth points.

Alex
The Goodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 05:24   #7 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south aust
Posts: 114
Had a flat battery and changed it, put a smaller one in and when i started to drive it wouldn't go out of 3rd gear. Bought bigger one then had all gears. electronic gear boxs need full power!
johnny r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 12:05   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 27 00S 153 07E
Posts: 1,944
Yep, on modern ECU cars, you can say 50% will be component failure, and 50% will be a signal failure.
__________________
"I married Miss Right. I just didn't know her first name was Always."
TopGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 12:06   #9 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
yea, had that problem when my speedo sensor was playing up.
Started out occasionally loosing speedo for a split second (sending gearbox into limp home mode) then eventually lost speedo all together! Needed a new speedo transducer.

Brent
__________________
EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 14:58   #10 (permalink)
re5mike
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
locked all the time

Yes, the box is locked in 3rd all the time. I have a "professional" look at it yesterday and they said tests showed faulty solenoids.

I have had the pan off and checked the resistance of all solenoids at close to 80 ohms and checked the soundness of all connectors. Unless these solenoids clog their valve or something I don't believe that they are faulty?

I am seriously considering throwing the 4sp away and converting to manual as I am most certainly NOT going to spend another $3000 on this CRAP gearbox. I can buy a complete manual car (rusty) for $500 and in less than a day do the conversion and NEVER have to put up with this rubbish again!!!

What are the thoughts on doing this?

Cheers, Mike.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 speed auto wanting to play Mister 3 speed CATman Trans | Driveline 13 08-15-2003 04:13
4 speed auto into xw. HELP! XTC-40L Trans | Driveline 5 08-15-2003 03:53
Will 4 speed auto bolt to 250 block? XB250 General Tech 5 04-02-2003 02:52
4 speed Auto Fluid Transfusion psproule Trans | Driveline 12 03-30-2003 19:58
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-2003 09:13

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:39.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.