4 speed transmission problems - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2003, 04:00   #1 (permalink)
mistressdragon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
4 speed transmission problems

i had to replce my flex plate in my ea every thing went great, 2 weeks latetr i now have trouble.When i start my car and put it into gear i can drive for about a kilometer all my gears drop out ,I have to turn the engine off and restrthe car to get my gears back
im told this is either an earth problem or an electrical problem but i have no idea how to fix it , hs anyone else had this problem and if so how do i fix it with out costing me a million dollars
any advice would be great fully appreciated
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2003, 21:02   #2 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
Could be...
On the passebger side of the car is an earth wire going from the bellhousing to the chassis - that's the gearbox earth. Try removing and cleaning it, same for the plugs on the side of the box.
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 02:16   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne's West
Age: 49
Posts: 407
Out of curiosity, I assume that you mean that there is no drive at all? Or is it that the tranny is not shifting between gears? Is this problem only occurring by starting the car from cold?

If the problem didn't occur until a few weeks after the swap, the problem is more than likely a loose plug. As mongrelEB said, check the plugs for dirty contacts or looseness. Also make sure that the wiring looms have not been pinched between the tranny and floorpan for any reason.

btw, is Ringers still the place to go over there? :-)

Cheers

XWish Ute
XWish Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 03:46   #4 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
oh yeah also check the wiring loom round the back of the motor never fell onto the exhaust....happened to me once; not HAPPY jan!!!
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 05:19   #5 (permalink)
mistressdragon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
frown thanks guys but im stuck still

thanks guys , i have cleaned all the earths and i have cleaned all my plugs, i checked all my wires and loom,but is still have no had no luck
to answer your questions , it doesnt make any difference if the cars hot or cold it does the same thing
i can run the car for an hour or for 5 minutes,, i can go through all the gears then it just drops out on me . i have to turn the motor off and restart engine before i get any gears back at all
im told its an electrical problem because if it was the box itself it wouldnt let me go through the gears like it does
but im stuck
thanks for your suggestions


btw yep ringers is still the place to go.. especcially when the strippers r in town lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 05:47   #6 (permalink)
Driver of a BA XR8!
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 184
This may be a bit of a long shot, but try checking all visibale wiring connections. Some of them may be lose or have bekom lose. We had some bad electrics on some of te taxis straight out of the factory, turned out to be lose connectors (poor effort on Ford's behalf)

Alex
__________________
Alex

"Give me any task to do, and I will find something else to do in it's place." Plato - a definition of procrastination
maco65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 06:59   #7 (permalink)
mistressdragon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
maco ill have a go what have i got to loose ty
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 19:34   #8 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Is your power light on the dash flashing?
Try a self test on the gearbox. Done the same way u do the ECU self test, but with different wires.

Brent
__________________
EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 20:40   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensland
Posts: 23
I know this sounds stupid, but I had a simular problem with an EB Falcon.

Problem - Lost all gears except third.

Solution - Alternator was putting out to much charge.

Check your alternator. I have forgotten what the output voltage the alternator should putout when charging, but I would say over 14 volts would cause problems with the ECU.

Hope this helps...

Les
Les Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 02:47   #10 (permalink)
Chromed Member
 
botch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: driving around with bent pushr
Posts: 1,810
should be no more than 14.4 volts
botch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 speed Auto Fluid Transfusion psproule Trans | Driveline 12 03-30-2003 19:58
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-2003 09:13
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-19-2003 23:12
Ford lays out future automatic transmission plans RPO83 Trans | Driveline 0 11-07-2002 22:59
AU V8 4 speed Auto transmission svo motorsport Trans | Driveline 17 09-20-2002 04:36

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:04.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.