5 Speed Nc Fairlane - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 02:34 AM Thread Starter
grippin'n'rippin
 
sleepwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Adelaide SA
Posts: 250
5 Speed Nc Fairlane

At the moment I've got a EA with a 5 speed manual. Couple of months ago I blew my 3.45 lsd and its sitting in the garage waiting to be rebuilt. I am looking at buying a fully optioned NC fairlane ghia with a 5l v8 in the near future. I'll be putting the 3.45 lsd in it when I get it rebuilt and what I want to do is put the 5 speed in it. I know that the gearbox wil go in no probs, what I'd like to know is will I have any problems putting the clutch pedal in, ie will the clutch cradle fit or will I have to get one custom made. The other thing is the ecu. Does the NC use EECIV or EECV. I've got the manual EECIV in the EA and a Unichip.
Thanks in advance.
sleepwalker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 03:19 AM
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 31
Posts: 917
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

The I6 box will not go behind the V8. You will have to get a V8 box because the input shaft is different and the fact that it's beefier so it'll handle the V8 grunt.

1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline  
post #3 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 03:26 AM Thread Starter
grippin'n'rippin
 
sleepwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Adelaide SA
Posts: 250
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

I was under the impression that they used the T5 on both engines.
sleepwalker is offline  
post #4 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 03:31 AM
EFXR62
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

Yeah, the v8 t5's have a different input shaft..
 
post #5 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 03:34 AM Thread Starter
grippin'n'rippin
 
sleepwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Adelaide SA
Posts: 250
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

I'd be rebuilding the gearbox while I'm at it. Is it possible to change the input shafts?
sleepwalker is offline  
post #6 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 03:38 AM
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 31
Posts: 917
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

Probably possible, but I don't like you chances of the box lasting. I have killed two T5's behind an I6 both times the only mod was a 2.5in exhaust. The I6 boxes aren't terribly strong when used in I6 applications, I cringe at the thought of what might happen to one behind a V8! lol.

1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline  
post #7 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 03:48 AM Thread Starter
grippin'n'rippin
 
sleepwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Adelaide SA
Posts: 250
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

last time i had the ea on the dyno it put out 126 rwkw. Never had any problems with the box. I did snap an axle and blew a 3.45 lsd and the clutch slips a bit. That's why I was thinking it wouldn't have any problems sitting behind a stock 5L. I can get my hands on a supra 5 speed. Are there places that make bellhousings to fit them on a windsor? Would a tremec 3550 bolt up to the stock belhousing? Which would be better?
sleepwalker is offline  
post #8 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 06:04 AM
Can't wait for Winton...
 
outback_ute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Victoria
Posts: 2,759
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

Do a changeover deal on a V8 box?
outback_ute is offline  
post #9 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 07:02 AM
Formerly ef_ghiaI6
 
Stevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 34
Posts: 677
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

how the hell did u snap and axle??
Stevo is offline  
post #10 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-01-04, 09:07 AM
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 42
Posts: 8,204
Re: 5 Speed Nc Fairlane

Um doing burnouts?
TIKFD6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Red Light- Speed Camera Safety Myths 928GTS The Pub 37 11-08-03 06:37 PM
24 hours til 5 speed Fairlane!! Low Na Australian Falcons 4 10-03-03 02:33 AM
First Drive - BA Fairlane KenOath Australian Falcons 3 07-16-03 01:08 AM
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-20-03 12:12 AM
Did EF Futura's come out in a 5 speed??? NAPARM The Pub 6 04-29-02 08:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome