C4 & C3 interchange?? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2005, 02:29   #1 (permalink)
Tza
Registered User
 
Tza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NZ
Posts: 99
C4 & C3 interchange??

I need to fit an auto to my boosted 2L pinto. the C3 just won't be even close to strong enough.
I was thinking of a C4, and need to know if I could fit a bellhousing off a C3 to fit the pinto. and if I could use a factory capri C3 gearbox crossmember on the C4 ???

and finally can you get 4 speed C4's and what are they found in??
__________________
http://www.retrotech.co.nz
Tza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2005, 04:26   #2 (permalink)
Registered Abuser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: woop woop
Posts: 438
Re: C4 & C3 interchange??

The short answer is no.
The c3 bellhousing uses 8 bolts and has the pump bolted to it with another 5 bolts.
The c4 uses 7 bolts which also hold the pump.
All c4's are 3 speed. but ford did use a c4 behind the 2 liter 4cylinder in 1972-73, so there must be bellhousings around
302xm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 17:45   #3 (permalink)
Tza
Registered User
 
Tza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NZ
Posts: 99
Re: C4 & C3 interchange??

thanks,

what model 4 cyclinder had a C4 trans in it?

I've only ever seen them with the C3. Is the C4 a physically bigger gearbox? It would need to fit in a manual capri tunnel....
__________________
http://www.retrotech.co.nz
Tza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 02:51   #4 (permalink)
Registered Abuser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: woop woop
Posts: 438
Re: C4 & C3 interchange??

Some 70,s American pintos as well as the 4cylinder mustangs had the c4, most had a C3
The 122(4) is engine size and number of cylinders in the attachment.
You might have a problem fitting the c4 in a factory manual car.
check this thread .But it might be due to the larger v8 bellhousing and converter as the 4cyl ones are heaps smaller
Attached Images
File Type: gif c4.gif (7.6 KB, 9 views)
302xm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 20:44   #5 (permalink)
Tza
Registered User
 
Tza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NZ
Posts: 99
Re: C4 & C3 interchange??

Thanks, perhaps I'll see if it's possible to get the 2.0L automatic C3 box rebuilt and strengthened or something to cope with 300hp.
Then it should bolt straight in..
__________________
http://www.retrotech.co.nz
Tza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.