can't shift manually - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2004, 16:36   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 367
can't shift manually

the wifes EB 3.9 will not change manually if you put it in first or second it's the same has being in drive it drives & changes fine you just can't shift it manually. can anybody give me any idea what the problem could be

cheers
MIKE
__________________
1994 ED FALCON GLI 5.0 V8 POLYNESIAN GREEN
usc body kit; tints; auscar cobra's; king lows; pacemaker extractors & 2.25 twin system
ED GLI V8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2004, 02:04   #2 (permalink)
'90 EA-II Fairmont
 
SileNceR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Warrnambool, VIC, Aust.
Age: 29
Posts: 572
Re: can't shift manually

the problem is it's an automatic and you shouldn't need to shift manually hence it doesn't really matter that it doesn't work....

honestly though, I really don't know.
SileNceR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 05:52   #3 (permalink)
NB & NCII V8 Fairlanes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 2,855
Re: can't shift manually

Usually means a failed inhibitor switch or wiring to switch. It's on the left hand side of the gearbox. Try unplugging the two cables and cleaning the contacts first; if that doesn't work (at it's likely it won't) buy a new switch.
__________________
Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 14:23   #4 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Re: can't shift manually

Does your torque converter lock up? Another sympton of the failed inhibitor switch is no torque converter lock up.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 22:54   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 367
Re: can't shift manually

Quote:
Originally Posted by NZ
Does your torque converter lock up? Another sympton of the failed inhibitor switch is no torque converter lock up.
how do you tell if the torque converter locks up or not ?

MIKE
__________________
1994 ED FALCON GLI 5.0 V8 POLYNESIAN GREEN
usc body kit; tints; auscar cobra's; king lows; pacemaker extractors & 2.25 twin system
ED GLI V8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 23:38   #6 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Re: can't shift manually

In 3rd and 4th gear they are supposed to lock up. When your cruising at say 100 give the car a little bit more throttle. The car should accelerate and the revs increase accordingly and it will pull away as if it were a manual transmission. If it isnt locked up the revs will 'flare' as if you were riding the clutch in a manual. Thats the best way I can think to describe it. When the torque converter is locked up, it simply is a direct line of power from the engine which reduces fuel usage under cruising conditions.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2004, 22:21   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 367
Re: can't shift manually

Thanks NZ. nothing like that happening you just can't shift it manually; only noticed the other week when towing a heavy trailer down a steep hill & tried to shift down to second & nothing happend
__________________
1994 ED FALCON GLI 5.0 V8 POLYNESIAN GREEN
usc body kit; tints; auscar cobra's; king lows; pacemaker extractors & 2.25 twin system
ED GLI V8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 01:11   #8 (permalink)
Lamahs approve of manuals
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 1,382
Re: can't shift manually

Its probably still worth checking out the switch anyway. Easy job, 30 mins tops to remove, check resistances and reinstall. Basically as the switch is moved to different positions, you should get different resistances . . . If you have a multimeter, its a very easy check . . .
XR8 Lamah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 00:57   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 367
Re: can't shift manually

thanks guys will check the switch out
__________________
1994 ED FALCON GLI 5.0 V8 POLYNESIAN GREEN
usc body kit; tints; auscar cobra's; king lows; pacemaker extractors & 2.25 twin system
ED GLI V8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
U.S.A.:Ford delays cutting Mo. plant shift Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 02-28-2004 07:40
BTR 4 speed manual shift kit. EA Turbo Clone Trans | Driveline 3 09-09-2003 02:34
Canada:Ford Canada shuts headquarters, day shift to save power Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 08-18-2003 09:50
T5 shift kits TwinPiston Trans | Driveline 2 07-03-2003 22:17
Column shift to Floor shift in XE??? DansEdgli General Tech 5 02-25-2003 21:59

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:09.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.