Dead T5 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2003, 02:41   #1 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
Dead T5

My gearbox has just shat itself on me! I started it after work tonight at 7pm and drove it about 200m before it started making a VERY loud clunking noise that was consistent with the speed of the gearbox not road speed. I think that the dodgy bearing in it has finally bitten the dust.

I'm going to the wreckers tomorrrow to chuck a 3 speed auto in it until such times as I can afford to reco the T5. What parts am I going to need to go from a T5 to a 3 spd? I'm going to get the wrecker to chuck the box and torque convertor in and I'll pull the dash and stuff out when I get it home and put the pedals in and all that.

Here is a list of what I think i need:

Box
Bellhousing
Torque convertor
Tailshaft
Shifter linkage
kickdown cable
T-bar
Pedal box

Not sure about the ECU. It's running a 5spd MPFI ECU in it at the moment will it run an auto box?

Any tips or suggestions to make the job as quick as possible? I plan on getting it finished tomorrow. Thanks guys.
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2003, 03:15   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
I'll swap you my 3spd MPI ECU for your 5spd one :) Save you $90 for a new one at the wreckers.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:21   #3 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
If the wreckers don't have one or don't want to give it to me cheap it's a done deal! Let you know tomorrow.
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:30   #4 (permalink)
No longer around
 
MADNC_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong
Age: 33
Posts: 4,882
sunny somethnig tells me he'd want to keep his 5 speed puter for when he gets teh 5 speed recoed
MADNC_8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:31   #5 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 29
Posts: 2,142
hahaha

the dude only wants it as a temporary thing sunny, i doubt he is going to get rid of a rareish manual ECU for ya auto one only to go find another one!
hahaha

good try but


for the auto ECU, there is plenty around at wreckers. usually cheepish too.
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:32   #6 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
Good thinking madnc!! I really couldn't be bothered doing another conversion, but I prefer an auto and it's cheaper to throw a 3 spd in than fix the T5.
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:36   #7 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 29
Posts: 2,142
so are you going back to the 3 speed for good? or just till u get the 5 speed reco?

I want your pedal box if it comes up for sale :)
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:41   #8 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
Depends on how happy I am with the 3 speed. Only ever had any experience in an XF and it wasn't too bad. My folks owned an 88 3spd MPFI EA GL, but being all off 4 years of age, my memory doesn't serve me all that well! lol
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:52   #9 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne VIC Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 103
you don't need to change the pedal box do you I thoght all you would have to is remove the clutch pedal and put an auto brake pedal in my brother used to do it to his mates cars XD's and XE's but i don't think the changed it in EA's
__________________
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia 4.0l (1996 EF) with EA Injection Single drivebelt conversion , Borg Warner T5 5 speed.
"Factory Specifications are optional"
Moran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 14:30   #10 (permalink)
Shh i'm huntin more power
 
Jase_ELXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,764
You dont need to change the pedal box, just the pedals. Also not sure if you need a new tailshaft either, i *think* they are the same, but dont hold me to it. Another thing you need to do is run lines to trans cooler and you'll also need a driveplate.
Jase_ELXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dead EA AUII_Forte General Tech 13 12-15-2002 17:49
Dead Injector? AusXH General Tech 7 08-24-2002 06:17
Prodrive deal dead? FPRXR-6 Ford Racing Across the Globe 3 07-02-2002 00:24
Laminge - For Sale - One Crashed Blown XR8 laminge The Pub 103 12-12-2001 18:58
Socceroos lose world cup qualifier in Montevideo Cobra The Pub 25 11-25-2001 23:02

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:50.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.