EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions. - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2004, 18:47   #1 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

Hi again,

Car: EA Ghia Series 1 - MPFI.

EA 3 speed auto - Can someone tell me the colour of the wiring form the sensors on the gearbox, I am guessing the same as the EA 4 speed auto, but want to confirm.

I need to know speed sensor (3 wires I think) and the neutral safety switch (4 wires ? - 2 for reverse, and 2 for neutral).

Also can I just double of the existing TPS for the 4 speed auto TCM, I don't need dual TPS do I ??

On the 4 speed auto TCM, the input wire for the econ/power switch, is it normally closed for power mode or normally open.

Thanks.
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2004, 22:05   #2 (permalink)
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 31
Posts: 3,287
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

ok, in ea/d if the switch is ope it is in eccon mode (oppisite to ef/l).

Dual TPS, u can tap into 1 to make it 4speed compatable, or it would be easier to source a 4speed EAII/EBI TPS. (i could sell you one).

Im not 100% sure with the wiring.
__________________
Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 22:46   #3 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

Well whats the advantage of having 2 TPS's, just more possible problems, or it is actaully an advantage ?

Does it mean a different throttle body, or just sort of a double up big TPS that has dual output?
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:31   #4 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 65
Posts: 4,692
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

From what I can tell, the wiring for the 3 speed is as follows.

Theresa no actual wiring diagram for the transmission. Probably because theres only 2 sensors.

Orange/Black wire and Red/Blue go to the inhibit switch, and one Black which is an earth.

Speed Sender is White, Red and Black. Thats all I can see by going back to the dash loom to get the speedo sender wiring.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:43   #5 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 65
Posts: 4,692
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

The advantage of 2 TPS's is if one goes bung it dosnt send BOTH the trans and engine into a spin.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 10:36   #6 (permalink)
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 31
Posts: 3,287
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

but it is twice as likely 1 wil go bung, and one will fail lol!
__________________
Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 23:28   #7 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

if there is no wiring diagram for the 3 speed auto, then I have the following question:

the 8 pin plug from the 3 speed auto gearbox, can someone give the pin assignments from that , as I need to work out what wires are what BEFORE I pull my gearbox out, so I can having organised before the install.

Thanks
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 01:23   #8 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 65
Posts: 4,692
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

Just plug the appropriate one for the 4 speed loom into it. It will match up.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 01:38   #9 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: EA 3 Speed auto wiring & a few 4 speed auto questions.

I am using my standard wiring loom, and adding on the 4 speed auto loom, I am NOT replacing my engine bay loom, hence all the information requests

the 4 speed auto only uses 7 out of 8 pins for a start, and the wires are completely not matched, I have already checked this, hence my request for information so I can re-do the 4 speed auto plug to match correctly so I can just plug and play.

Jason
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Territory Launch (Comprehensive) RPO83 Territory 25 05-03-2004 05:56
EA 3 speed auto re-build how many $$$ Dellboy999 Trans | Driveline 7 03-04-2004 17:51
EA2/EB1 4 speed auto DONT TOUCH THEM BOF The Pub 5 09-16-2001 09:15

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:31.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.