EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2003, 19:22   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 248
EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

Hey Guyz,

I recently come across another EA, its Black, full GT kit and 16" wheels, all panels straight. Only down side is its a GL model, real sad interior and CFI motor, one good thing is its a 5sp. Some may know the vehicle i drive, i've been thikning about taking on this car as a project to swap everything from mine into this shell, as mine has slight panel damage and black looks cool.

I have a EA MPFI 5sp. I'm very mechanical minded and engine swapping is possible, but i was wanting to know if there are any known problems or anything that just won't swap. I want everything from my car into this one.
Falcon_Spac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2003, 20:04   #2 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

Go for it, EA is an EA. many people swap auto for manual, or CFI for MPFI, and no major probs, so there is no reason at all you cant move everything from one to the other.

Happy Swapping.

Dellboy999
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 05:56   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 248
Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

Thanks for your reply Dellboy999. The main thing i was worried about is that it only has a single speed cluster, where as mine has all the dials, and changing the wiring looms that hang out around the ignition key. Main concern is i can't be without a car for too long and getting the new car moving as soon as possoble is needed. Can anyone else shed some light on the topic
Falcon_Spac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 11:01   #4 (permalink)
donuts2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Why don't you swap the MPFI gear over(not the motor) to the black one from your car, grab all the good shit that you want, and then sell your old car with the CFI? Thats how I'd do it
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 02:35   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 248
Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

Only thing is my motor has way less Klms........ and a balanced tailshaft and LSD. But, yeh, will be selling one of the cars when complete, caz both cars look vey good on the outside

Another thing, how do you tell its a 3.2? doesn't really say anywhere.

Last edited by Falcon_Spac; 06-22-2003 at 03:12.
Falcon_Spac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 02:56   #6 (permalink)
Ex Member
 
Fairlane Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 717
biggrin Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon_Spac
Another thing, how do you tell its a 3.2? doesn't really say anywhere.
3.9's have 3.9 badges, red for mpfi and black for cfi. no badge at all for 3.2 (too embarrising to advertise)

someone correct me if i'm wrong :s6:
__________________
Best wishes
Fairlane Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 03:06   #7 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

Will be on the rego papers for one. and build date is another fair shot, mid 88 on was the demise of the 3.2 (i think)

And check the engine number matches the vin/chassis number at least that way you know it was in the car originally, so what ever you find out you know will be true.

After all that only 3.9's were MPFI anyway (right ???)

Dellboy999
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 03:21   #8 (permalink)
Chasing down oil leaks...
 
Axeman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: nearly Kingaroy, Qld.
Age: 32
Posts: 836
Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

If it's a 3.2 then that should be stamped on the front of the head, lower left. If it's a 3.9 then the same. I'm guessing that if it doesn't say 3.9 then its a 3.2

Mine is 3.9 and has a silver rocket cover so colour doesn' mean much..

Dan..
__________________
1988 EA Falcon Pearl Green
Head gasket replacement count - 1



Axeman82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 06:48   #9 (permalink)
donuts2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

I believe the CFI's had the grey rocker cover and the MPFI's have a black rocker cover. But yeah Axemans right, there should be a 3.9 stamped on the front of the head if it's a 3.9L
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 02:30   #10 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
Re: EA engine, driveline, interior into another EA shell

The Fairmont/Spak cluster will plug straight into the GL, only the tacho won't work as there is no provision for it in the GL dash.

That should be the only extra wire you'll have to run.
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XD monts same as EA engine monts ?a 351 into a EA will it go ? Falcon kid General Tech 31 06-21-2004 22:58
Holdens new V6 EED-250 The Pub 52 08-09-2003 22:07
Ford Motor Company’s 100-millionth V-8 Engine RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 3 04-29-2003 07:33
A New Boss Born in Australia RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 10-16-2002 18:12
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-2002 07:27

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.