EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2004, 21:56   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

hey

i want to put an EA T5 onto a au series 3 engine into my ea. I will eventually have all the original wiring out of the au into my ea. The au is a 4 speed auto with economy switch. My question is will i need to get an au series 3 manual computer and will the T5 fit on the au ser3. If i need a computer how much and where can i get it from.

thanks

ben
keysersozeCUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2004, 04:20   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

anyone please ???
keysersozeCUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 05:13   #3 (permalink)
345kw of V8 Windsor Power
 
EDXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Age: 35
Posts: 2,784
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

Pretty sure you will need a manual computer, it makes it a lot easier anyway. Just remember the EA T5's are pretty weak and the AU engine is over it's max torque rating.
EDXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 05:19   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
OED666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 1,512
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

are you running the BBM from the AU engine... My car is running the auto computer, but is a manual...

If you dont run the BBM manifold from the AU engine, you will be able to run the EA MPI computer...

It might be a stupid question, but you have got thermofans???
__________________
BUILT FORD TOUGH!!!

94 ED Futura
PROUD TQE OPERATOR
13.822 @ 99.67MPH - Willowbank 05/08/2006
OED666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 02:31   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

hey... so does that mean the t5 from an EA will break with heavy driving ??

yeah i have thermofans from AU. i really want to use the complete au setup because it has more power and better fuel than the EA MPI.

thanks guys
keysersozeCUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 02:44   #6 (permalink)
345kw of V8 Windsor Power
 
EDXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Age: 35
Posts: 2,784
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by keysersozeCUST
hey... so does that mean the t5 from an EA will break with heavy driving ??
Yeah if you treat it hard it has a much greater chance of breaking, be nice to it and it should be fine.
EDXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 04:00   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
OED666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 1,512
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

You are going to need to by-pass Smartlock, if you want to use all of the AU wiring and computer etc...

I am going to be upgrading to an AU engine soon, and I am going to keep the existing manifold, as the flow rate i think is a little better up in the rev range then and BBM.

The EA 5 Speed is the weakest box eva... With a bit of thrashing it wont be looking too good.

You will get plenty of pep out of your car if you keep your original inlet manifold. Also, I think the ED inlet manifold flows a little more than EA-EB Manifolds...

I have 179 rwhp and i havent done many mods at all. Best thing is put a better cam in...
__________________
BUILT FORD TOUGH!!!

94 ED Futura
PROUD TQE OPERATOR
13.822 @ 99.67MPH - Willowbank 05/08/2006
OED666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 04:07   #8 (permalink)
345kw of V8 Windsor Power
 
EDXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Age: 35
Posts: 2,784
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by OED666
I am going to keep the existing manifold, as the flow rate i think is a little better up in the rev range then and BBM.

You will get plenty of pep out of your car if you keep your original inlet manifold. Also, I think the ED inlet manifold flows a little more than EA-EB Manifolds...
Yeah the fixed runner manifolds do flow slightly better up high but you loose a ton of power through the midrange. BBM take about a second off the 0-100 and 1/4 mile times so I would be using the BBM if possible.
EDXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 04:17   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
OED666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 1,512
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

change the diff gears and he will be laughing...

15.153 qtr time for me... and that was with a cactus EA 5 speed too...

I have to try again with my new box...
__________________
BUILT FORD TOUGH!!!

94 ED Futura
PROUD TQE OPERATOR
13.822 @ 99.67MPH - Willowbank 05/08/2006
OED666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 02:08   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Re: EA T5 on AU serIII into EA HELP !!!

what t5 is good for the AU then EB-D etc ?????
keysersozeCUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will a v8 fit in an EA sedan ?? from AU keysersozeCUST Windsor Tech 12 04-08-2004 07:33
Fairmont Ghia, what to pay? adamw Australian Falcons 29 12-16-2003 22:47
Opinion: AU was never a true EL replacement Troutman The Pub 30 11-13-2003 17:28
AU Head on an EA PDon Inline 6 Tech 11 07-02-2003 00:31
close call HSE2 The Pub 36 01-09-2002 09:52

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.