EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2004, 20:19   #1 (permalink)
heard it before!
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 872
EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

i'm planning an engine conversion using a T5 from an EA on a 4.0 which will probably go close to 6000rpm will the T5 handle this much revs??? i've heard that they don't like it....
deankdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2004, 21:46   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
89Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 26
Posts: 48
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

Its not Revs that kill a gearbox its torque and hard shifting
a T5 is designed for any E Series six as they all have the same box just
some will have different ratios. so long as your not dumping the clutch hard every time you shift at that RPM it should take it
89Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2004, 22:03   #3 (permalink)
heard it before!
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 872
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89Falcon
Its not Revs that kill a gearbox its torque and hard shifting
a T5 is designed fr any E Series six so long as your not dumping the clutch hard every time you shift at that RPM it should take it
i thinkl someone said its hard to pull the next gear when the revs are high(not sure how high they were talking about), i don't think there will be all that much torque i think strength wise it will be ok but not sure on operation
in regards to shifting gears at high rpm
deankdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2004, 01:23   #4 (permalink)
no tire smoke no fun!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 458
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

EA had a weaker box
__________________
EF Futura, XR6 spec head, lowered, T5 conversion, 2.5" catback, AU XR8 snorkle w/ K&N

There is a war inside my head, if I take a day off I'll die!

This cat, is cat, a cat, good cat, way cat, to cat, keep cat, a cat, idiot cat, busy cat, for cat, 20 cat, seconds cat! Now read it all without the word cat!
zbenga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2004, 01:32   #5 (permalink)
w w w .eafalcon. c o m
 
dpk83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 30
Posts: 1,175
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

care to elaberate on that zbenga ?
dpk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2004, 02:17   #6 (permalink)
spin 'em up
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD
Posts: 119
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

sure will, prob why i got a broken engine mount! damit!!!
fordboy-m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2004, 07:33   #7 (permalink)
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 30
Posts: 3,287
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

EA box had a lower torque rating to EB==> boxes. Its identifiable by the 3.5:1 1st gear.
__________________
Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2004, 16:38   #8 (permalink)
w w w .eafalcon. c o m
 
dpk83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 30
Posts: 1,175
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

aha, that makes sence. :(
dpk83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2004, 17:35   #9 (permalink)
heard it before!
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 872
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
EA box had a lower torque rating to EB==> boxes. Its identifiable by the 3.5:1 1st gear.
thanks for input so far guys, keep it comin, whats a freshen up cost for these boxes by someone who is not a rip off, just bearings im guessing, second gear sinchro is worn but i hear these are dear so fkuc it. as long as its strong and can change into second at 5500 rpm with about 200 flywheel kw
deankdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2004, 18:06   #10 (permalink)
5.0 ED Wagon
 
banarcus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orange NSW
Age: 40
Posts: 123
Re: EA T5 box will it like 5500red line gear changes

Cant see a problem with an EA box behind a 4.0L as long as its been given an overhaul. Whats the first gear ratio of post EA T5s anyway?
__________________
banarcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XD monts same as EA engine monts ?a 351 into a EA will it go ? Falcon kid General Tech 31 06-21-2004 22:58
EA Diff EA Wagon Trans | Driveline 2 04-18-2004 04:21

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:45.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.