help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2004, 19:04   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Question help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

hey guys need some help,

im swaping a 3 speed auto for a 5 speed on my ea. with another blokes ea. he wants an auto and i want a 5speed so its perfect but theres one thing im having trouble with. i have taken both engines out and both tranmissions off but on the engine (crankshaft) with the 5speed the hole is smaller than the one on the automatic engine. is there a way to get the peice that is in the 5speed hole on the engine out so i can get the torque converter from the auto on the engine that had the manual.

thanks for your help in advance,
keysersozeCUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2004, 19:56   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
cogo_81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 812
Re: help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

That would be the thrust bearing, get a slide hammer with a little hook and yank it out, you will probably need to buy a new one but they dont cost much though.
cogo_81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 22:47   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: western sydney
Age: 32
Posts: 118
Re: help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

yeah there like $5.50 the part no is 6003 it's a seal bearing
neil101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 00:40   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Re: help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

i tried to yank it out but i knew i would have to wreck it if i went even harder, thanks for the info guys much apprec :-D wish me luck
keysersozeCUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 01:04   #5 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Re: help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

Isnt it the spigot bearing hes talking about? A friend of mine fills the hole with grease and then uses a peice from his socket set to put in the hole. Then gives it a belt and the grease pushes the bearing out. Have to do it a few times. Dont forget to put one in your engine otherwise your input shaft will last about 5 minutes.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 03:15   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
cogo_81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 812
Re: help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

yep sorry i was wrong it is the spigot bearing
cogo_81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 03:37   #7 (permalink)
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 41
Posts: 3,585
Re: help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

Quote:
Originally Posted by NZ
Isnt it the spigot bearing hes talking about? A friend of mine fills the hole with grease and then uses a peice from his socket set to put in the hole. Then gives it a belt and the grease pushes the bearing out. Have to do it a few times. Dont forget to put one in your engine otherwise your input shaft will last about 5 minutes.
Just remember to wear sunnies, Grease in the eyes bloody hurts , speaking from experience!!
__________________
FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 13:06   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Re: help with 5speed and auto swap - hole on crankshaft

thanks peoples, i managed to get it out and have the auto on there now..thanks again.
keysersozeCUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.