Manual to Auto swap...TE 250? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2004, 01:45   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 36
Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Hey guys, i want to get rid of my 4 speed singal rail and put a C4 in. Its a TE cortina with a very worked N/A 250. I just want to know a few things, like will the gearbox crossmember be the same? Will the shifter fit through the exsisting hole in the floor? Will i need a different tail shaft? Are the speedo cables the same?

Any help would be great.



Cheers,

Russ
BIG250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2004, 02:01   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
oldxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West sub Melb
Posts: 43
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Can't remember about the crossmember, the shifter will fit, it's floor mounted, tailshaft is the same, as are speedo cables, i did the auto to manual swap about 15 years ago.
__________________
oldxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:17   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 36
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Did you swap your peddal box?
BIG250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:31   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
oldxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West sub Melb
Posts: 43
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Like i said, it was 15 years ago, but i think YOU just have to take the clutch pedal off and the slide on some of those white plastic spacers.
__________________
oldxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 00:27   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 36
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

So dose anyone kno about the crossmember?

Anything else i need to kno?
BIG250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 07:15   #6 (permalink)
012
AUTS50 #012
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 15
Posts: 1,001
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Don't know about the crossmember, I had a TE 250 + C4 (conversion done by previous owner) about 11 years ago, and one thing 'bout the C4, if you ever need to get the C4 out of the TE, you've got to take the engine out as well because the C4 will not fit through the chassis rails, even if you take out the radiator and move the engine forward.
012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 01:39   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 36
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Im planning on droping the motor and box in together like i do with the manual, will i have a problem with doing this?
BIG250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 06:31   #8 (permalink)
012
AUTS50 #012
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 15
Posts: 1,001
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG250
Im planning on droping the motor and box in together like i do with the manual, will i have a problem with doing this?
No, that's the only way you can do it.
012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2004, 16:56   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hammondville, Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 171
Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

BIG250, please send me an e-mail, as p.m's are not working....Shane.
shano6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 03:40   #10 (permalink)
WHATS THAT NOISE?
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SYDNEY
Posts: 78
Wink Re: Manual to Auto swap...TE 250?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUGZMK
Don't know about the crossmember, I had a TE 250 + C4 (conversion done by previous owner) about 11 years ago, and one thing 'bout the C4, if you ever need to get the C4 out of the TE, you've got to take the engine out as well because the C4 will not fit through the chassis rails, even if you take out the radiator and move the engine forward.
ive taken the box(c4) out of my car twice and left the motor in it?just put it on stands to clear the bellhousing and i comes straight out??
__________________
SEE YA ON THE STREET
YES302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
auto 2 manual sprint tony mac Trans | Driveline 7 06-23-2004 01:19
Auto to manual swap Ba xr8 XRQTOR Trans | Driveline 11 06-05-2004 03:15
GT-P AUTO test drive- lack of reel RUSH! Venom XR Turbo FPV & Tickford Forum 2 04-17-2004 22:41
xf auto to manual blueovalxfboy Trans | Driveline 7 01-11-2004 18:47
EB gearbox change from auto to manual TurboDOHC Trans | Driveline 0 06-05-2001 05:53

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.