Overdrive Toploader - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2003, 02:46   #1 (permalink)
Forced Falcon
 
EATURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MACKAY QLD
Age: 38
Posts: 307
Overdrive Toploader

Can anyone tell me if they have heard of a overdrive toploader and what the ratios are, i have been told they made an overdrive box but was never used in falcons, anyhelp woulg be great
__________________
EA Fairmont Ghia Turbo, White,425kw, nine inch, tremec, EB GT leather trim, B45 simmons, For Sale $16000

EB GT Black Manual with Sunroof Build Number 98

BA Fairmont Ice Mint Silver
EATURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2003, 03:00   #2 (permalink)
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 30
Posts: 3,287
Re: Overdrive Toploader

Tremec TR3550 is essentialy a toploader with an overdriven 5th gear.
__________________
Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 13:30   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Overdrive Toploader

Choice of two O/D ratios, 0.68 and 0.83.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 14:26   #4 (permalink)
100 SPEED LIMITED SILVAEA
 
gm dstroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gold coast and off playing with 32psi of boost pumping into 4.1lt of pure ohc feralness and developing a 350hp n/a kit for ea-au i6, also making 5.0lt gear soon enuf
Posts: 1,043
Re: Overdrive Toploader

any idea on going prices and fitment parts (i'll install)?

i was looking at a top loader, but i hate the fact only 4 spds grrrr.

cheers.joe.
__________________
live in S.E. queensland? bit of a revhead? click here!!--> speedphreaks

1000hp is underway. rods,pistons here!! t88 on its way!!
gm dstroya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 15:35   #5 (permalink)
Forced Falcon
 
EATURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MACKAY QLD
Age: 38
Posts: 307
Re: Overdrive Toploader

I have fitted a toploader to my EA and am very pleased with its operation but you have to run 2.7 diff gears to make it decent on the highway. WBT56 you might be able to clear this up but i have been told that the overdrive box was alot weaker than the normal toploader as it was from commerical and light vehicles and the teeth very narrower than the normal toploader
__________________
EA Fairmont Ghia Turbo, White,425kw, nine inch, tremec, EB GT leather trim, B45 simmons, For Sale $16000

EB GT Black Manual with Sunroof Build Number 98

BA Fairmont Ice Mint Silver
EATURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 17:00   #6 (permalink)
100 SPEED LIMITED SILVAEA
 
gm dstroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gold coast and off playing with 32psi of boost pumping into 4.1lt of pure ohc feralness and developing a 350hp n/a kit for ea-au i6, also making 5.0lt gear soon enuf
Posts: 1,043
Re: Overdrive Toploader

yeah, i am dubious to their strength as well,

bummer the top loader is only 4 spds, for me to cross the line at 5800 rpm in 4th, i need a 3.7 diff, but then the bastard will be revving at 3000rpm or so @ 100k's

i was either looking into a tremec or a supra 6 spd box (getrag) both will cost bout the same but. in other words both will cost $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

maybe i should just give in, grab a c4 with a 4.11 diff, thats ultimatly faster, but ultimatly a lot more crap! cant drive down to melbourne, no heel toeing, bugger that,

i think i much rather spend 4+k on a propper manual.

cheers.joe.
__________________
live in S.E. queensland? bit of a revhead? click here!!--> speedphreaks

1000hp is underway. rods,pistons here!! t88 on its way!!
gm dstroya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 17:16   #7 (permalink)
Forced Falcon
 
EATURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MACKAY QLD
Age: 38
Posts: 307
Re: Overdrive Toploader

GM dstroya i got on the net last night and found a web site for a bloke in USA who only deals with toploaders and tremec boxs, he is really well known over there and all the yanky web sites rave about him. He sells every single bit for a top loader you name it hes got it, interestingly he sells tremec boxs and his price for a tremec TKO2 (second generation tko) is $1900us so about $2375aus plus freight so maybe buy one and import it, let me know if you want hes web address
__________________
EA Fairmont Ghia Turbo, White,425kw, nine inch, tremec, EB GT leather trim, B45 simmons, For Sale $16000

EB GT Black Manual with Sunroof Build Number 98

BA Fairmont Ice Mint Silver
EATURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 17:33   #8 (permalink)
Forced Falcon
 
EATURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MACKAY QLD
Age: 38
Posts: 307
Re: Overdrive Toploader

www.davidkeetoploaders.com is the web site and i think you will agree its worth the look
__________________
EA Fairmont Ghia Turbo, White,425kw, nine inch, tremec, EB GT leather trim, B45 simmons, For Sale $16000

EB GT Black Manual with Sunroof Build Number 98

BA Fairmont Ice Mint Silver
EATURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 17:44   #9 (permalink)
100 SPEED LIMITED SILVAEA
 
gm dstroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gold coast and off playing with 32psi of boost pumping into 4.1lt of pure ohc feralness and developing a 350hp n/a kit for ea-au i6, also making 5.0lt gear soon enuf
Posts: 1,043
Re: Overdrive Toploader

jeez thanks for that, i may have to send him of a e-mail,

thnaks for that ea turbo.

cheers.joe.
__________________
live in S.E. queensland? bit of a revhead? click here!!--> speedphreaks

1000hp is underway. rods,pistons here!! t88 on its way!!
gm dstroya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 19:37   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Overdrive Toploader

Quote:
Originally Posted by EATURBO
i have been told that the overdrive box was alot weaker than the normal toploader as it was from commerical and light vehicles and the teeth very narrower than the normal toploader
Apparently they were a light duty box, still a four speed. Shift was 1,2,4,3. Fourth was 1:1 and third was overdrive.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
toploader SSpeeDEMONSS Trans | Driveline 6 11-07-2003 05:19
Shifter options for TopLoader ?? xbcoupe Trans | Driveline 8 10-20-2003 05:35
1990 e-350 ford van 7.3 diesel overdrive transmission larry Trans | Driveline 3 10-01-2003 04:57
Mr Gasket Vertical Gate - Toploader TTNOS8 Trans | Driveline 4 09-09-2003 15:49
Tranny fluid leak/ Overdrive problems koslos Ford Thunderbird Forum 1 08-30-2003 05:24

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:44.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.