Single Rail 5 Speed - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2003, 22:19   #1 (permalink)
Munch Munch Rice 4 Lunch
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 594
Single Rail 5 Speed

I may be getting a 5 speed from an XE falcon I6, and want to know if i can put it behind my XC 302, its running a single rail 4 speed at the moment, i'd like to improve its highway mileage a bit? any thoughts would be appreciated
RevHeadRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2003, 23:07   #2 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
If the gearbox was in the factory from factory then it was only behind a 3.3 litre. as far as i know this gearbox is identical to ones being used in sigma's at the time. If it is the same It is not very strong at all and wont last behind your eight even if it did fit, not sure if it fits tho.
5 speeds were only put behind 4.1 in the series 2 XF and these boxes were stronger.
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 00:17   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Single Rail 5 Speed

Above is correct. This box runs a B/H which is part of the box, so won't fit the V8 anyway. They are bsically the same as the VK 5 speed also.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 02:48   #4 (permalink)
Munch Munch Rice 4 Lunch
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 594
Re: Single Rail 5 Speed

whats a B/H ???
RevHeadRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 03:00   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
If you want 5sp. Have a look at the Toyota Supra geabox with a Hatfield conversion bellhousing. I've had one it worked fine, theres a few things to complete the conversion, but fairly easy. The overdrive in top gear is great for the highway and economy and will also alow you to use a higher diff ratio for quick take offs.

You should be able to get everything for around $700-$900 or second hand which is cheaper.
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 06:21   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne's West
Age: 49
Posts: 407
B/H = bell housing
XWish Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2003, 05:59   #7 (permalink)
Munch Munch Rice 4 Lunch
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 594
Re: Single Rail 5 Speed

i'll have to have a look see at it then, cheers for the help anyway
RevHeadRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 19:42   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Deep deep in WA
Posts: 144
Re: Single Rail 5 Speed

Think Clevo means Hadfield (Castlemaine Rod Shop) or the other one to try would be Dellow conversions in Sydney, specialise in Supra/Celica conversions. A T5 might also be an option.
__________________
The liver is evil and must be punished
cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 02:13   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Re: Single Rail 5 Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboy
Think Clevo means Hadfield (Castlemaine Rod Shop) or the other one to try would be Dellow conversions in Sydney, specialise in Supra/Celica conversions. A T5 might also be an option.
Is the T5 a better box than the Supra? Also whats the Tremec is this the T5? Any idea on the max HP that this box can handle?
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 02:31   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Deep deep in WA
Posts: 144
Re: Single Rail 5 Speed

Wouldn't say the T5 was better than the supra but is local and may be cheaper. There are two supra boxes as I understand the turbo and non turbo with very different power ratings and prices. The Tremec is basically a 5spd Top Loader and can take up tp 550hp (correct me if I'm wrong anyone). If memory serves Tremec bought the rights to top loader design from ford.
__________________
The liver is evil and must be punished
cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-2003 09:13
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-19-2003 23:12
4 speed to 5 speed in XF DansEdgli General Tech 1 12-08-2002 21:50
Did EF Futura's come out in a 5 speed??? NAPARM The Pub 6 04-29-2002 19:50
Anyone got a 5 speed Manaul 3.9MPI Dazlin Inline 6 Tech 10 04-04-2002 08:03

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.