Speedo 10kph out - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2004, 03:24   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Speedo 10kph out

Hey all, I've got an XE falcon with a 2.77 bw diff/toploader through to 16' 225/50 tires.

The speedo is out around 10k's I was pulled over and the cop said "You were doing 111kph" when on the speedo it is 100kph. (I got off, said I had new rims and didn't know!)

The speedo gear that screws into the toploader box is marked 18k (The plastic gear) What should I be using that will increase my speedo by 10kph? Also were do I get these from? Ford?
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2004, 03:45   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Speedo 10kph out

I think the 18T? is the smallest you can get for toploader. It would be pretty close for 3.00 diff. Which dash do you have? Some of them (XD-E) have a trimpot to adjust the speedo over about a 20 odd km/h range.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 16:36   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Thanks WBT56, so I need 18T Where do I get one? I have the std XE/XD dash with tacho and speedo the large guages and four small guages , oil pressure, water temp, battery and fuel to each corner. I have a trip meter that doesn't work.

Where is the trimpot located to adjust the speedo?
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 18:57   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Trimpot is on the circuit board for the speedo. Some have a small rubber grommet you can remove to get at it, down near the trip reset. Otherwise you have to drop the dash out to get at it. It sounds like the gear you have is closest you can get.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 22:47   #5 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevo
Hey all, I've got an XE falcon with a 2.77 bw diff/toploader through to 16' 225/50 tires.

The speedo is out around 10k's I was pulled over and the cop said "You were doing 111kph" when on the speedo it is 100kph. (I got off, said I had new rims and didn't know!)

The speedo gear that screws into the toploader box is marked 18k (The plastic gear) What should I be using that will increase my speedo by 10kph? Also were do I get these from? Ford?
Any decent Ford spare dept will be able to tell you what you need but the 16's your running will make it difficult. If you were running 15's it'd make your life easier. I have the same issues with my 4.11's. I've given up as the speed reads fast anyway. I figured it's better it reading fast as I won't get a speeding fine in it. 2 years registered and not a single speeding fine in the XB.

The 18T one is for a standard 14" wheeled car running a 2.92 diff.

Although I got one in my EL Falcon.

Brenden
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 03:37   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Speedo 10kph out

I've recently just changed from 14' rims with 235/60's I put my new rims next to the 14's and the height was basically the same. On the road the tacho is almost the same at 100kph, I don't think the 16's have made much of a difference maybe if they were 225/55 instead of 50's.

The speedo was correct when I had a single rail and the 14's when I changed to the toploader with the same transducer the speedo was out. I'll pull the gear out and replace with the 18T.

Last edited by clevo; 02-18-2004 at 03:39.
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 03:53   #7 (permalink)
i'll pinch ya mums tyres
 
cookie_thief23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: brissie
Age: 35
Posts: 154
frown Re: Speedo 10kph out

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevo
I've recently just changed from 14' rims with 235/60's I put my new rims next to the 14's and the height was basically the same. On the road the tacho is almost the same at 100kph, I don't think the 16's have made much of a difference maybe if they were 225/55 instead of 50's.

The speedo was correct when I had a single rail and the 14's when I changed to the toploader with the same transducer the speedo was out. I'll pull the gear out and replace with the 18T.
lol..of course the tacho will be the same..if u increase the tyre diameter so your goin 20% faster than you really are it raises your gearing by 20% therefore reducing your revs by 20% ..put 20 inch rims on or 10 inch rims..tacho will always read the same revs at 100kph(according to your speedo anyway) unless u change dashboard
__________________

Last edited by cookie_thief23; 02-18-2004 at 04:03.
cookie_thief23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 17:31   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Should also consider that rather than being out 10kmh, it would more likely be 10-15% out. So if your doing 60, its 66, and at 70 it will be 77. I remember my XF was out the same when I changed from 14"s to 15"s.
__________________
EL driver...
Futura97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 17:37   #9 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Well I did a quick calc and based on my finidings:
235/60/14 = 100kmh
225/50/16 = 100.98 kmh

So I can only guess it has alwasy been out and you have been lucky
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 19:24   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Yeah I thought it made no difference, thanks for that Dellboy. Yeah it was only out when I changed from the single rail to the toploader and used the same transducer.

If I go to 225/55/16 what will the speed be?
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo Sender/Diff/Wheel Calculations Xyphoid Trans | Driveline 7 07-29-2004 03:53
3.91 Speedo Drives - Toploader TTNOS8 Trans | Driveline 4 07-23-2003 02:53
Speedo gears jimbo123 Trans | Driveline 2 07-11-2003 23:38
Fit Cruise to XF; Speedo Sender Swampy General Tech 2 12-30-2002 21:17
Speedo Reading Futura97 General Tech 14 04-19-2002 20:47

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:34.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.