Speedo 10kph out - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-04, 03:24 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Speedo 10kph out

Hey all, I've got an XE falcon with a 2.77 bw diff/toploader through to 16' 225/50 tires.

The speedo is out around 10k's I was pulled over and the cop said "You were doing 111kph" when on the speedo it is 100kph. (I got off, said I had new rims and didn't know!)

The speedo gear that screws into the toploader box is marked 18k (The plastic gear) What should I be using that will increase my speedo by 10kph? Also were do I get these from? Ford?

clevo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-04, 03:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Speedo 10kph out

I think the 18T? is the smallest you can get for toploader. It would be pretty close for 3.00 diff. Which dash do you have? Some of them (XD-E) have a trimpot to adjust the speedo over about a 20 odd km/h range.

If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-04, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Thanks WBT56, so I need 18T Where do I get one? I have the std XE/XD dash with tacho and speedo the large guages and four small guages , oil pressure, water temp, battery and fuel to each corner. I have a trip meter that doesn't work.

Where is the trimpot located to adjust the speedo?
clevo is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-04, 06:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Trimpot is on the circuit board for the speedo. Some have a small rubber grommet you can remove to get at it, down near the trip reset. Otherwise you have to drop the dash out to get at it. It sounds like the gear you have is closest you can get.

If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-04, 10:47 PM
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevo
Hey all, I've got an XE falcon with a 2.77 bw diff/toploader through to 16' 225/50 tires.

The speedo is out around 10k's I was pulled over and the cop said "You were doing 111kph" when on the speedo it is 100kph. (I got off, said I had new rims and didn't know!)

The speedo gear that screws into the toploader box is marked 18k (The plastic gear) What should I be using that will increase my speedo by 10kph? Also were do I get these from? Ford?
Any decent Ford spare dept will be able to tell you what you need but the 16's your running will make it difficult. If you were running 15's it'd make your life easier. I have the same issues with my 4.11's. I've given up as the speed reads fast anyway. I figured it's better it reading fast as I won't get a speeding fine in it. 2 years registered and not a single speeding fine in the XB.

The 18T one is for a standard 14" wheeled car running a 2.92 diff.

Although I got one in my EL Falcon.

Brenden

XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-04, 03:37 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Speedo 10kph out

I've recently just changed from 14' rims with 235/60's I put my new rims next to the 14's and the height was basically the same. On the road the tacho is almost the same at 100kph, I don't think the 16's have made much of a difference maybe if they were 225/55 instead of 50's.

The speedo was correct when I had a single rail and the 14's when I changed to the toploader with the same transducer the speedo was out. I'll pull the gear out and replace with the 18T.

Last edited by clevo; 02-18-04 at 03:39 AM.
clevo is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-04, 03:53 AM
i'll pinch ya mums tyres
 
cookie_thief23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: brissie
Age: 37
Posts: 154
frown Re: Speedo 10kph out

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevo
I've recently just changed from 14' rims with 235/60's I put my new rims next to the 14's and the height was basically the same. On the road the tacho is almost the same at 100kph, I don't think the 16's have made much of a difference maybe if they were 225/55 instead of 50's.

The speedo was correct when I had a single rail and the 14's when I changed to the toploader with the same transducer the speedo was out. I'll pull the gear out and replace with the 18T.
lol..of course the tacho will be the same..if u increase the tyre diameter so your goin 20% faster than you really are it raises your gearing by 20% therefore reducing your revs by 20% ..put 20 inch rims on or 10 inch rims..tacho will always read the same revs at 100kph(according to your speedo anyway) unless u change dashboard


Last edited by cookie_thief23; 02-18-04 at 04:03 AM.
cookie_thief23 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-04, 05:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Should also consider that rather than being out 10kmh, it would more likely be 10-15% out. So if your doing 60, its 66, and at 70 it will be 77. I remember my XF was out the same when I changed from 14"s to 15"s.

EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-04, 05:37 PM
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 45
Posts: 3,838
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Well I did a quick calc and based on my finidings:
235/60/14 = 100kmh
225/50/16 = 100.98 kmh

So I can only guess it has alwasy been out and you have been lucky

I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-04, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Speedo 10kph out

Yeah I thought it made no difference, thanks for that Dellboy. Yeah it was only out when I changed from the single rail to the toploader and used the same transducer.

If I go to 225/55/16 what will the speed be?
clevo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo Sender/Diff/Wheel Calculations Xyphoid Trans | Driveline 7 07-29-04 03:53 AM
3.91 Speedo Drives - Toploader TTNOS8 Trans | Driveline 4 07-23-03 02:53 AM
Speedo gears jimbo123 Trans | Driveline 2 07-11-03 11:38 PM
Fit Cruise to XF; Speedo Sender Swampy General Tech 2 12-30-02 09:17 PM
Speedo Reading Futura97 General Tech 14 04-19-02 08:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome