STD C6 converter acting like a high stall? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2007, 06:18   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
dezza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 11
STD C6 converter acting like a high stall?

I need some advice on a standard stall converter in my c6 auto that seems to be acting like a 3000 high stall. The gearbox has been fully rebuilt except for the torque converter and works well except for stalling up to about 3200 rpm and seem to be worse when cold. After start up when cold it revs to about 2500 just reverseing out the driveway which is abit uphill. Could it be that the converter is stuffed or maybe other problem? Car info is 75 F100 4x4 with 393 clevo, 2v well ported heads, edelbrock torqer manifold, 214-224@50 cam, rollers ect. Gearbox has extra clutches,R code billet servo,shift kit, 4.11 gears 39 inch tyres. I dont really mind the stall speed as it launches well but I do a lot of 4x4 driving and tow a big trailer and this slipping becomes annoying. Any ideas would be a help.
dezza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2007, 21:02   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St Louis, Mo
Posts: 250
Re: STD C6 converter acting like a high stall?

If it wasnt doing this before the rebuild, I would think something needs adjusted in the tranny. Using the old convertor on a new rebuild isnt recommnended at all. That is unless you know without a doubt that it is in very good condition and very clean.

Most transmission shops will advise you to install a new convertor with the new build. It could be that the convertor is weak. It really shouldnt be doing that. The problem is, when its doing that, its creating a lot of heat. And heat is a transmissions worst enemy.

I would go back to the shop that rebuilt it and see what they have to say. I would also spring for a new convertor. Which reminds me, I need to order a bigger stall for mine lol.
__________________
I love it when people do things right
Unfortunetly I dont always do that lol
Sand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 03:56   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
dezza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 11
Re: STD C6 converter acting like a high stall?

Thanks for the info. I am not sure if it was doing it before as I converted it from manual to auto and got the box from a wreckers condition unknown. I rebuilt it myself and being short of funds thought I would risk it using original converter. I think that gamble has not payed off.
dezza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 04:20   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St Louis, Mo
Posts: 250
Re: STD C6 converter acting like a high stall?

Its not a total loss. The tranny may just need some adjusting. I would go ahead and buy a convertor to stick in it while I had it out though. Take it to a shop and have them check it out for you. It may not cost that much since you already have all the new stuff in it.

I'm thinking the bands may not be adjusted right. They could check that easy enough. The pump could be weak too. It might cost a little more to get it right, but you will get it.
__________________
I love it when people do things right
Unfortunetly I dont always do that lol
Sand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 20:31   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
dezza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 11
Re: STD C6 converter acting like a high stall?

The Band is right but I think I should get a oil pressure guage and check pump pressure as you say. The pump looked fine in rebuild, but thought it would shift harder with the shift kit and R code billet servo but it only shifts like std box. Maybe pressure is down.
dezza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:51.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.