Toploader help ? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-28-03, 04:05 AM Thread Starter
The Deputy Dogg.
 
falcon coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vic/Berwick
Age: 45
Posts: 1,862
Toploader help ?

The linkages on my toploader seem to be rubbing togethor as i change gears, at worst it jams in the gate, the box seems to be fine, but i think its time for some linkage fix/replacment.
Could someone tell me a possible fix ? i was thinking of a new linkage kit?
or maybe chaging to a speco linkage shift ?
If someone has any ideas or could direct me to supplier or webpage of help it would be apperciated .
cheers.
Nick.


Member of the the Trans Pacific Moderator Tag Team
falcon coupe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-29-03, 05:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Toploader help ?

What kind of shifter? Are you linkages adjusted correctly? Check them by looking under the car while in each gear. Can you get into reverse fairly easily or does it take a huge effort to push across?

Top load linkages are a pain to setup correctly but once done there fine.

Paul
clevo is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-29-03, 07:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: brisbane
Age: 50
Posts: 617
Re: Toploader help ?

There are rebuild kits available with new washers and detent spring for reverse..Once it's all cleaned/lubed with the new bits installed you put it in the car with a pin through the linkages all lined up in neutral.You then adjust the linkages to fit..The shifter should then shift like new.
gregaust is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-01-03, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
The Deputy Dogg.
 
falcon coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vic/Berwick
Age: 45
Posts: 1,862
Re: Toploader help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaust
There are rebuild kits available with new washers and detent spring for reverse..Once it's all cleaned/lubed with the new bits installed you put it in the car with a pin through the linkages all lined up in neutral.You then adjust the linkages to fit..The shifter should then shift like new.
Ta Gregaust, i might try that first.

Member of the the Trans Pacific Moderator Tag Team
falcon coupe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
toploader SSpeeDEMONSS Trans | Driveline 6 11-07-03 05:19 AM
Shifter options for TopLoader ?? xbcoupe Trans | Driveline 8 10-20-03 05:35 AM
Mr Gasket Vertical Gate - Toploader TTNOS8 Trans | Driveline 4 09-09-03 03:49 PM
3.91 Speedo Drives - Toploader TTNOS8 Trans | Driveline 4 07-23-03 02:53 AM
Toploader oil type or grade EATURBO Trans | Driveline 6 06-17-03 12:17 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome