Toploader help ? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2003, 04:05   #1 (permalink)
The Deputy Dogg.
 
falcon coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vic/Berwick
Age: 43
Posts: 1,862
Toploader help ?

The linkages on my toploader seem to be rubbing togethor as i change gears, at worst it jams in the gate, the box seems to be fine, but i think its time for some linkage fix/replacment.
Could someone tell me a possible fix ? i was thinking of a new linkage kit?
or maybe chaging to a speco linkage shift ?
If someone has any ideas or could direct me to supplier or webpage of help it would be apperciated .
cheers.
Nick.
__________________
Member of the the Trans Pacific Moderator Tag Team
falcon coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2003, 17:29   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: Toploader help ?

What kind of shifter? Are you linkages adjusted correctly? Check them by looking under the car while in each gear. Can you get into reverse fairly easily or does it take a huge effort to push across?

Top load linkages are a pain to setup correctly but once done there fine.

Paul
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 19:35   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: brisbane
Age: 48
Posts: 617
Re: Toploader help ?

There are rebuild kits available with new washers and detent spring for reverse..Once it's all cleaned/lubed with the new bits installed you put it in the car with a pin through the linkages all lined up in neutral.You then adjust the linkages to fit..The shifter should then shift like new.
gregaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 23:22   #4 (permalink)
The Deputy Dogg.
 
falcon coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vic/Berwick
Age: 43
Posts: 1,862
Re: Toploader help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaust
There are rebuild kits available with new washers and detent spring for reverse..Once it's all cleaned/lubed with the new bits installed you put it in the car with a pin through the linkages all lined up in neutral.You then adjust the linkages to fit..The shifter should then shift like new.
Ta Gregaust, i might try that first.
__________________
Member of the the Trans Pacific Moderator Tag Team
falcon coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
toploader SSpeeDEMONSS Trans | Driveline 6 11-07-2003 05:19
Shifter options for TopLoader ?? xbcoupe Trans | Driveline 8 10-20-2003 05:35
Mr Gasket Vertical Gate - Toploader TTNOS8 Trans | Driveline 4 09-09-2003 15:49
3.91 Speedo Drives - Toploader TTNOS8 Trans | Driveline 4 07-23-2003 02:53
Toploader oil type or grade EATURBO Trans | Driveline 6 06-17-2003 12:17

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.