Tranny swap on AU Falcon ... - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2003, 07:05   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Townsville NQ
Age: 32
Posts: 797
Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

Ok here is the deal ...


I wanna swap a Au Falcon auto tranny with a toploader ... (reason: need a manual and something strong for cheap :D)

Now my question is, where does teh falcon read speeds etc from and would that affect the readings for the dash etc and what do i have to do etc to get around that?

2nd question is, i got cruise controle with it, however i am not quite certain where the CC is reading it speeds of ... if its reading from the dash input, i just need to get the above problem right, however if its connected to the tranny next problem there.

3rd and last is, I am running an XR6 non VCT ECU ATM, which controles the operation of the transmission as well (7 stage Tickford program - not the 2 stage Ford program!), would i have to switch off the transmission controle system off so the ECU wont shit itself, and if so what would the best way be: reflash the ECU with the manual program or controle it through a chip (note: i will be getting a custom chiptorque one fairly soon ... whenever it decides to work).

Cheers
Mic

I hope this sorta makes some sense to yas
EvilChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2003, 07:08   #2 (permalink)
Oxford Green AU
 
AUForte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 1,281
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

As far as speed goes, pretty sure the AU reads from the Front axle.
__________________
Dual Fuel 10/98 AU1 Forte
AUForte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 14:38   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

AU speed sensor is in the gearbox. You will have huge problems with shifter location.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 16:48   #4 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

You should be able to get an electronic speed sensor to fit in the cable drive hole in the box. Possibly even you old one, although I don't know how accurate it would be due to the gears probably being different. The CC reads off this, so is not a drama.
Finally, to fool the computer into thinking the box is in neutral, get a 6.5 to 7.2 kOhm resistro. Run it between pin 91 and 64 (power for p/s, TPS, etc., and the return line from the shift selector). Just check those pin numbers with Ford though, as I lost the bit of paper :)
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 18:14   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Townsville NQ
Age: 32
Posts: 797
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

as for the shifter: i am getting a renegade shifter, and as for that matter i dont see too much of a problem there, however if worse comes to worse the center console will go ... :D

As for the speed sensor, i was hoping that will be the matter, it should be fairly accurate, as the gears on bother boxes are very very similar (from memory) if not identical, even if not i should be able to adjust em through teh dash.

As for the ECU ... throwing a resistor into that place sounds kinda dodgy to me ... wouldnt it be just easier to get the manual program so the ecu has nothing to do with the transmission any more?
EvilChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 03:46   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

I wouldn't be worried about the centre console. The stick will come through the floor about the CD player.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 07:09   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Townsville NQ
Age: 32
Posts: 797
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

DOH! that short hey? mhm gotta work out some sort of an extension ...
EvilChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 07:46   #8 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

Well if you want to shell out for an AU manual computer, I imagine you will have to buy new - not even going to THINK about what that'll cost! :)
AU manuals = rare as hen's teeth and you will be very lucky to find one wrecked.

The reason I said about the resistor - I just did it. Am having no trouble whatsoever with it on my EB manual. As long as you do the job properly (solder and sparky's tape) I can't see that it's dodgy...
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 08:23   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Townsville NQ
Age: 32
Posts: 797
Re: Tranny swap on AU Falcon ...

lol ... all EEC Vs live in the same shell ... all i need to do is reflash it to the proggy i need ... thats how i upgraded my STD Ford EEC V to the Tickford spec one ... all i need to do is reflash it to the EEC V Tickford manual spec ... should do i rekon
EvilChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 15:46   #10 (permalink)
Lamahs approve of manuals
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 1,382
XR9Ute might be a good person to talk to about flashing EEC systems.

I would certainly be interested in more information / the possibility of this method - since swapping the computers in the EL ( manual transmission should be in before the end of the year ), is something I would prefer to avoid ( the hassle in finding a manual computer that is ).

If nothing else, pls let me know how it goes Chief . . . .
XR8 Lamah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Trans | Driveline



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Falcon is ... Hobbes The Pub 26 08-05-2003 06:14
V8 practice #2 FPRXR-6 Ford Racing Across the Globe 3 05-17-2002 21:03
V8 Supercars Practice 1 & 2 JEM Ford Racing Across the Globe 1 04-26-2002 21:54
Ford wins Rnd 1 of Konica V8s FPRXR-6 Ford Racing Across the Globe 8 04-02-2002 17:40
Bathurst updates Donut King The Pub 62 10-05-2001 05:26

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.