Ford Forums banner

Vernier Cam Gear

4K views 18 replies 5 participants last post by  Royal Blue 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum and was wondering if anyone else runs a Vernier Cam Gear on their Falcon 6.

I recently had a Cam Chip package put into my Futura and am looking at also having a Vernier Gear installed which will allow me to move the cam by up to 6 degrees. So I believe.

Any information would be helpful...

#2 ·
I don't belive that there is an off the shelf one available. However a good machine shop can easily make one up. A cheaper but very bodgy alternative is to simply move the chain 1 tooth out. The vernier idea is the way to go however for obvious reasons. I take it the cam specs prefer the cam timing to be set differently to the stock cam? Not having looked at an OHC Falcon engine in a while I can't remember how much stuffing around it would be to vary the timing.

#3 ·
Thanks FTEfan:

Actually I know of two off the shelf Vernier Cam Gears for the Falcon OHC I can go for, these being:

*Crow Cams
*Chiptorque

As my Chip/Cam package is a HP4 from chiptorque I would look to go with them.

Currently my engine produces most of its power above 3000rpm, the car is not bad below that point however under load with passengers It really bogs down. I need more usable as I would say "Street power" aound 60 to 80km's hour. It's an Automatic so this dosen't help.

My other option is going for a 3.45:1 diff gear similar to that in the XR6 but this option is a tad expensive.

Does anyone have any other options??

#5 ·
Nipper,

I've just fitted one of the Crow gears to my ED Futura (along with an EFXR6 Head and Cam). I haven't started messing with adjusting it yet, but indications are that I'll have to look at doing so as the power delivery is not quite right - sort of opposite to what you have. I suspect that the arbitrary position it came set to has left me with too much advance.