4 Speed - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-02, 02:35 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 60
4 Speed

I,ve got an ea with a 4 speed automatic. Just recently I noticed that it is shifting 4 times which means 5 speeds.
1-2 at 18kph, 2-3 at 32kph, 3-4 at 56kph, 4-5? at 97kph.
Is one of these shifts the torque converter locking up? I didn't think that you could notice this.
image is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-02, 02:53 AM
400 kg ego
Troutman's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
You should notice the drop in revs... and the 4 speed unit is very smooth anyway.

Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-02, 06:13 AM
Ford Anti B&S Squad
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 400
4-5 , never noticed it. Didnt know that the lockup torque converter did that. Ahh well you learn something everyday. :)
EA90 is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-26-02, 11:47 AM
EB wagon
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
image... Its kinda like a 5spd huh?? Your lockup seems fairly late tho? 95kph? mine locksup at around 75kph. Do you driver yer car in power mode all the time?

Brent79 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-26-02, 02:30 PM
Posts: n/a
EF have virtual six speed autos as their torque converter will lock in 3rd and 4th - it is quite noticable on mine - I don't mean you can feel it but the tacho tells you
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-02, 04:48 AM
Birth, Drift, Death...
Rollin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 33
Posts: 3,039
if you can feel it you may need to get your auto serviced - bands adjusted, new oil and filter, if the fluid is a bit sad it might contribute to poor shift quality and noticable lockup, or the friction material and the clutch plate in the converter may be worn.

my mate has a late 92 4.0 auto and we dont notice the lockup...

Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-02-02, 04:38 AM
Australian Falcon Member
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 865
You should always see the lockup happen on the tacho - ie. converter stops slipping = reduction in revs. As far as feeling it - I never used to actually "feel" it, but since getting decent power out of my engine I am feeling it. Maybe some of the V8 guys can contribute their experience with it?

EDFUTURA is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-02-02, 07:01 AM
Stand clear: 5.0 in use!
V8 Ghia Mike's Avatar
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide, South Oz
Posts: 150
I can definitely feel and hear the lockup, particularly with the torque from the 5.0 and a louder exhaust! The note changes as the phony fifth gear kicks in and the revs drop. The weird thing is on very light throttle at open road cruise, the car will accelerate slightly upon lockup! I guess it's the extra V8 torque being tranferred down the direct-drive driveline?

The best way to feel the effect is to use the 'economy' mode. This causes the trans to shift up at lower RPM and engages the lock up convertor much easier and earlier. You will find that it will lock in top gear even at around 60-70 kays on light throttle. Personally I hate the 'econ' mode. It short-shifts too early for my liking and reduces throttle response on kickdown.

My 2 cents, Mike

'We drew a line in the sand. No one would kick sand in our faces again!' G.P.

EF Fairmont Ghia, Bordeaux Purple, 5.0 Windsor, Crane cam, ChipTorque modded ECU, full XR bodykit, 16 inch XR8 alloys, 2.5 inch dropped Tickford suspension, full grey leather trim with chrome, woodgrain and lots of lights, climate control, ABS, Premium sound, trip computer, power everything

I can't get enough of this!
V8 Ghia Mike is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-02-02, 09:09 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 262

Yes I totaly agree with you Mike. My EB Fairmont V8 does the same thing except I have modified my Throttle position sensor & the engine feels a bit more responsive now. The best part about the whole thing is that it costed me nothing!!!. Now that I have done this I couldn't go back to the way it was setup from the factory...

One question for all You EFI V8 owners. My auto will not kick down at around 60kph or so. In the fords car owners manual it says that this is normal & I would just like to know if anyone elses car does this. Has ford changed this on latter model autos or is it the same. I have also found that with modified exhaust + extractors that if i manualy shift the gears in my auto at around 5500rpm instead off 5000 as is in power mode the car picks up speed harder in second...etc. I was wondering if anyone else has experianced the same thing. I am guessing that since the engine breathes better the power has shifted up higher in the rpm range therefore when the revs fall down affter the auto changes the gear they fall down in the power band & the car starts to pull harder because of that. Please correct me if I am wrong but that's the only logical explanation that I could come up with...
I8AHSV is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-03 10:13 AM
3 Speed Vs 4 Speed vbman187 Drag Racing Technique 35 02-26-03 10:00 AM
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-20-03 12:12 AM
4 speed to 3 speed SiX_iN_a_RoW General Tech 10 10-29-02 03:09 PM
Need 4 Speed 4 (Not how it use to be) XR_Strider_GuY The Pub 17 08-17-02 09:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome