Air Flow meter - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2002, 17:42   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: regional vic
Posts: 7
Question Air Flow meter

I recently brought myself a cone air filter (just a cheap one :) ) and i was told to watch out for my air flow meter when installing it. So i was just wondering wether you can just put the cone air filter in. I was also wondering if there will be enough air flow if i just add it in.
__________________
**On the wait for a blown head gasket ( EA all the way )**
Kickblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2002, 16:07   #2 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Im pretty sure that only the V8's had an airflow meter in the E series. On the 6's they use a Map (Manifold Absolute Pressure) which senses the pressure on the intake manifold. It also uses a Temp sensor to measure the air temp. With both of these the Ecu is able to calculate the mass of air entering the engine. Just the same as a MAFS (Mass AirFlow Sensor). Dont worry about the Airflow Sensor as there isnt one. Just bang that bugger on and enjoy.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2002, 16:10   #3 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Oh and in regards to there being enough airflow, the answer is yes, there will definitly be enough.
There will be a lot of noise but the benifits of the filter will be reduced because the engine will be sucking hotter less "dense" air.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2002, 18:01   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Kenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 32
Posts: 2,061
Quote:
Originally posted by NZinAUS
Im pretty sure that only the V8's had an airflow meter in the E series. On the 6's they use a Map (Manifold Absolute Pressure) which senses the pressure on the intake manifold. It also uses a Temp sensor to measure the air temp. With both of these the Ecu is able to calculate the mass of air entering the engine. Just the same as a MAFS (Mass AirFlow Sensor). Dont worry about the Airflow Sensor as there isnt one. Just bang that bugger on and enjoy.
When I was talking to my Mechanic about him installing the Multipoint Injection on my EA, he told me I would need a new Airflow Meter. And that part alone would cost a few hundred dollars. What's the deal?
Kenaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2002, 20:48   #5 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
well I think he doesnt know much about Falcons because mine certainly doesnt have one. All there is is a MAP and Air Temp sensor. The ecu uses them to calculate the amount of air entering the engine. Does the same thing as an airflow sensor.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 04:51   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: regional vic
Posts: 7
Thanks guys, it's in now.. just a temporary job though (incase i have a prang and the insurance company wants to check out the car) I did have a little problem with air flow and the engine was getting pretty hot early, but i mounted it a bit higher and it is running pretty nicely now, made a fair old diffrence to the sound of the car but thats about it, mabey a little more pull down low.
__________________
**On the wait for a blown head gasket ( EA all the way )**
Kickblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 21:46   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6
Kenaz: I'm asuming you're doing a CFI to MPFI? When I did mine, the same MAP was used. Yep, there is no airflow meter.
__________________
1990 EAII Fairmont GHIA..... 5 Spd Manual (real factory model NOT mod).
Amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 05:03   #8 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
The sixs also have a throttle position sensor.
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EEC-V Diagnostics and cylinder flow Tickford6 General Tech 1 08-21-2002 20:53
EF/EL Port Flow information Tickford6 General Tech 1 08-18-2002 01:04
Mass Air Flow Meter Improvments XR8XTC General Tech 10 08-14-2002 05:55
Understanding Engine Management - Part 1 Dan [Sac] V6 and Hot4 Tech 0 12-11-2001 13:08

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.