Are camber/caster kits worth installing on EA? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-16-01, 11:29 PM Thread Starter
Australian Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 66
Posts: 1,120
Are camber/caster kits worth installing on EA?

Any opinions?

EA S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-16-01, 11:44 PM
T5 Expert Operator
 
XR_Strider_GuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 3Fb Skunk Works(JXR01 Dev)
Age: 36
Posts: 6,542
cool

EA S,

Does your car scrub the tyres on the outside or inside of the tyre.
I got a caster/camber kit fitted to my wagon and ironed out the typical EF outside tyre scrub on the front wheels.

I've also dialled abit of negative camber into the front, which makes the turn in response better. Must say the car handles heaps better now.

I have the shim adjuster ones, apparently theres are caster/camber kits that can be adjusted from teh shock tower for infinite adjustment degrees.

Motor May 2001 Quote: "Believe it or not, there are actually a bunch of weirdos out there who reckon a six cylinder is the dux gutz. Bugger it: I'm one of them" :s5

AUII Late Ed XR6 HP T5 Venom- Full Tickford Body Kit, 17in Wheels, Herrod Bi-plane Spoiler, Momo Steer/Gear, T-Series Interior Options, Premium Stereo and a very light-tuned 4.0L I6

(FPV-Tickford Club of NSW Member and Co-Founding Member of 3FB Inc, Ford Forums Food Bandits)
XR_Strider_GuY is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-16-01, 11:46 PM
Pursuit Reincarnation Dog
 
Aussie Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne VIC
Posts: 7,777
The K-Mac kit is apparently the pick of the bunch. Mr Herrod has them on his super duper ultimate Fairmont Ghia that is hiding in a dark corner of his workshoft gradually turning into a running beastly concern.......

BA'1.5' Pursuit 290
Lightning Strike / Reflective Orange Stripes

'General' Dog - AP's German Shepherd and Best Mate - 02Dec1998-15Dec2003.
'Pepper' Dog - General's and My Little German Shepherd Sweetie - 1996?-02Apr2006.

'Sako' Dog - My Beautiful and Pretty German Shepherd - 2001?-23Aug2006.
Aussie Pete is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-16-01, 11:59 PM
Shh i'm huntin more power
 
Jase_ELXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,764
Quote:
Originally posted by Aussie Pete
The K-Mac kit is apparently the pick of the bunch. Mr Herrod has them on his super duper ultimate Fairmont Ghia that is hiding in a dark corner of his workshoft gradually turning into a running beastly concern.......
I've only ever heard good stuff about the k-mac kits, so i would be going with them personally.
Jase_ELXR8 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-17-01, 12:49 AM
Nacho Nacho Man!
 
Venom XR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 3,514
Re: Are camber/caster kits worth installing on EA?

Quote:
Originally posted by EA S
Any opinions?
If you're keeping the car for some time, yes. I had a kit added to my EA S when adding new springs, shocks, rear bushes and a new steering rack.

The Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for a life. - Andrew Brown
Venom XR is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-17-01, 07:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 3,143
My tyres were scrubbing on the outside so I fitted a Pedders camber kit to my NB Fairlane (similar to EB II), It helped a bit but the camber settings kept going out of adjustment. Gave me lots of practice using my camber gauge though. I eventually fitted both a sump guard (Ford) and strut brace (Pedders). Although it's double A arm rather than strut suspension, these to items stopped it losing camber so I assume either the side wall of the engine bay were flexing or moving or the K frame was moving.....or both.

Whiteline also have kits that brace the A arm mouts to the engine mounts and kits to change the radius rod length. I would have tried them first if I had known. Check their kits at: http://www.whiteline.com.au/alignment.htm

Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-17-01, 05:43 PM
Territory TS - AWD
 
RAPTOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kiama, NSW, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 2,374
Definitely worth it if you are keeping the car or have some decent rubber on it. I have a Pedders "shim adjustable" kit in my ED. It solved the outside tire wear problem instantly and also helped with handling, but I gues the new shocks and a few bushes had a role to play in that too.

The KMac "ratchet adjustable" kit has the advantage of being able to be adjusted with the tires on and the car sitting with its weight on the suspension at the normal road height. Therefore whatever setting is dialled-in is what you get in "live" conditions.

The shim adjustable models require an alignment measurement be taken, partial disassembly of the front-end to add/remove shims, reassemble, remeasure alignment (repeat as required). You can imagine how many (few) interations of this procedure most alignment shops would be prepared to go through before they "settle" for whatever reading they have achieved.

As an aside. When the EA's first come out a a few of the more "clued-up" company car owners where I work wanted a kit fitted to their cars. Apparently the garage had been told to NOT fit any alignment kits as it was cheaper to replace a few sets of tires over the period the company would own the cars and that it added no resale value. SHEESH! Bloody tight accountants!

Territory - WHEELS COTY
RAPTOR is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-17-01, 06:42 PM
Registered User
 
Falchoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 3,544
Especially recommend cator/camber kits if your car is lowered. As for brands...if Herrod use K-Mac it must be OK, I've got Super Pro in my EBII. I had Nolathane but it fu:fmad::fmad:ed out after a couple of months so I replaced it with the Super Pro one, 2 years later no probs.

You know, somebody actually complimented me on my driving today. They left a little note on the windscreen. It said, 'Parking Fine.'So that was nice.

____o00o_=^..^=_o00o____
Falchoon is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-01, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Australian Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 66
Posts: 1,120
Rare to see such a unanimous opinion. Thanks all.
EA S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA to ED Falcon review Aussie Falcon The Pub 13 08-24-04 08:35 PM
XD monts same as EA engine monts ?a 351 into a EA will it go ? Falcon kid General Tech 31 06-21-04 10:58 PM
Installing rear brake pads on an EA Troutman Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 15 06-11-03 08:25 AM
Thermo fan conversion kits for ea TUFESP General Tech 3 01-30-03 05:16 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome