Coolant Temp Sensor in EA? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2004, 04:28   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 71
Coolant Temp Sensor in EA?

Folks,
if it's not one thing with my EA, it's another, but we'll eventually get there. Was fiddling around doing some self test stuff last night and the old ECU code 22 appeared again. Great, now what. I went to check the Coolant temp sensor to make sure that wasn't playing up again but noticed the little sensor right behind it was a little loose. Just touched it and it fell off. I went to plug it back but there is some type of spring in there that just forces it back out again. As a consequence, I get no temp reading in my car now. GREAT.

So, does this thing simply clip back in as it didn't seem to be much holding it in place to begin with and their is too much spring that keeps pushing it back out or does it clip in somehow.

If I need to replace it, what am I meant to be replacing i.e. what's it called, and what price am I looking at.

Thanks in advance,
Steve
xr6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2004, 15:34   #2 (permalink)
NB & NCII V8 Fairlanes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 2,843
Re: Coolant Temp Sensor in EA?

To put it back either pull the spring clip out and slide it back once the plug is in place or as you are meant to (and with less chance of losing the clip) press down on top (closed end of 'U' shape) of the spring clip with your thumb as you push it on or off. Note socket is keyed so the plug must go the correct way up.
__________________
Regards Blue

Last edited by Aussiblue; 01-18-2004 at 15:40.
Aussiblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 15:56   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 71
Re: Coolant Temp Sensor in EA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussiblue
To put it back either pull the spring clip out and slide it back once the plug is in place or as you are meant to (and with less chance of losing the clip) press down on top (closed end of 'U' shape) of the spring clip with your thumb as you push it on or off. Note socket is keyed so the plug must go the correct way up.
I think that's what the problem is then, I don't seem to have any sort of 'clip' there at all to be able to hold it in.

Cheers,
Steve
xr6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 16:01   #4 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: Coolant Temp Sensor in EA?

use a cable tie or 2 to hold it together for the short term, at least that way you will get temp readings, always important for an EA :0)

Jason
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 01:04   #5 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 28
Posts: 5,083
Re: Coolant Temp Sensor in EA?

If you need a replacement temp sender for the gauge, gimme a yell, I've got one that should work.

Last edited by psycho chicken; 01-19-2004 at 01:05. Reason: re-read original post
psycho chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 03:21   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 71
Re: Coolant Temp Sensor in EA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho chicken
If you need a replacement temp sender for the gauge, gimme a yell, I've got one that should work.
Chicken,
yeah, it's the smallish one at the back of the thermostat housing. When it fell off there was a little gold spring inside it, could be mistaken for a spring within a pen if you had to describe it.

If you do have one, that'd be fantastic. I'm all over melbourne tomorrow, work in Richmon, then to Essendon around 4ish for my accountant, then home to the folks in Lalor for dinner, then back home in wantirna late at night. If you fit into any of that circle, PM me with details and we'll go from there. Much appreciated.

Cheers,
Steve
xr6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech


« Unichip | Injectors »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
coolant temp sensor x1229x General PAG discussions 2 03-01-2006 15:13
What temp should actual coolant temp be? MarkT Ford E-Series Trucks 4 05-20-2004 15:32
Coolant leaking.. Axeman82 General Tech 10 08-24-2003 22:02
over heating blondie Inline 6 Tech 29 07-28-2003 08:03
FORD HELP! EA temp TurboCelica General Tech 2 10-23-2002 07:04

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.