Crap Xe Ghia Wont Go!!! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2004, 02:53   #1 (permalink)
Falcon 2.. Ferrari 0 hehe
 
MaD_WoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 31
Posts: 1,290
Crap Xe Ghia Wont Go!!!

i went to drive my car just before, and on gas it drive goodf or 100 meters or so, but them, dont wanna rev more than 1200.... if i press 'go' more, it revs up a little, then dies, revs up and dies revs up and dies??????? switch to petrol, and drive a bit, then back to gas, goes good, then does it again????? the converter is gettignwater.. and its got 1/4 of a tank (thats wha the tank guage says but ive done about 200 kays on 15 bux of gas) could it be empty? or more serious?
__________________
We live in an imperfect world, but
there is no point in trying to make it perfect, because not everyone can be GREEK!

XE Fairmont Ghia... Silver/Grey Met over black, soon to be v8, cant wait till i get another v8, after 3 LONG HARD YEARS


http://home.iprimus.com.au/diablo_vt/xeesp.swf
MaD_WoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2004, 06:03   #2 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
Re: Crap Xe Ghia Wont Go!!!

Fill the gas tank (or at least put $5 worth in) and if it runs fine, you know you were empty (or close to it).

If that doesn't work and it runs fine on petrol, get the gas system checked by a pro.
__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 06:25   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EVL-TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 162
Re: Crap Xe Ghia Wont Go!!!

I had TE cortina on LPG that did the same thing. Does it run fine when you initially start the car and then starts idling funny etc after the car has warmed up?

I found with my cortina that the converter would freeze up, with ice visible on the outside and very very cold to touch. Make sure you are running coolant and not distilled water and that it has some sort of anti-freeze in it.

That's all i can really suggest. Other than that, don't run it on LPG anymore?
__________________
1988 EA Falcon Sedan
EB II 4.0L Engine Conversion
T5 Manual Trans
EB II 3.27:1 LSD
108.4rwkw
:td:

If they had black box recorders in Commodores, the final words would be "watch this bro!"
EVL-TE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 12:16   #4 (permalink)
known as tibbo
 
RaceCraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,033
Re: Crap Xe Ghia Wont Go!!!

LPG gauges are ass... check the valve on the tank.. sounds like its is all but empty to me
RaceCraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 03:09   #5 (permalink)
Falcon 2.. Ferrari 0 hehe
 
MaD_WoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 31
Posts: 1,290
Re: Crap Xe Ghia Wont Go!!!

the guage inside said 1/2 in the tank said 1/4, but nothing in it, i filled it up, and geez, gas does wonders! hahaha
__________________
We live in an imperfect world, but
there is no point in trying to make it perfect, because not everyone can be GREEK!

XE Fairmont Ghia... Silver/Grey Met over black, soon to be v8, cant wait till i get another v8, after 3 LONG HARD YEARS


http://home.iprimus.com.au/diablo_vt/xeesp.swf
MaD_WoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 03:08   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne's West
Age: 50
Posts: 407
Re: Crap Xe Ghia Wont Go!!!

Also could be a dodgy LPG selector switch or (less likely) the LPG cutoff solenoid. I'd check the switch first.......
XWish Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XE Ghia 4.1 EFI 1984 FFOracing General Tech 11 08-01-2003 04:43
HELP - Power WIndows in XE Ghia FFOracing Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 06-07-2003 01:30
BA Fairmont Ghia V8 review Go Auto sandmanls1 Australian Falcons 1 02-03-2003 22:45

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:23.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.