Cruise control - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2002, 21:36   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MELBOURNE
Posts: 25
roll Cruise control

Has any one installed an after market cruise control system in an Auto EAII.
If so how difficult is it and which brand is the best suited to the 4-speed auto.
STRAIGHTSIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2002, 21:41   #2 (permalink)
400 kg ego
 
Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
Hey there and welcome. Personally I'd recommend tracking down the components from a wrecker, and installing a genuine Ford system. People here have done it, and say it isn't so hard.
__________________
Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2002, 21:55   #3 (permalink)
-
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 33
Posts: 1,675
im seriously looking to do that - brent, do you have any diagrams or anything which you followed to hook it up? where did you hook up the crusie ECU power/etc? where is the cruise ECU itself located?

a little OT, but ive found out that the Falcon S has a lighting controller fitted - a lesser one to the Fairmont. Im going to see if theyre compatible - swapping for a fairmont one would bring dimming interior lights, among other things...

im also going to fit footwell lights soon...

cheers

Jase
galapogos01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2002, 21:58   #4 (permalink)
400 kg ego
 
Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
haha jbolger you're starting to sound like me. I'm beginning to contemplate door lights and lights under the front seats.
__________________
Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2002, 15:56   #5 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
easy!

hey jase, doug (sphell) sent me some diagrams that really helped with those damn button wirings. I can forward them on too you if you like. Whats yer email address? The cruise ECU is located up under the drivers dash, to the right of the steering column. It hangs from a bracket (which you would need to find - or build one yerself like i did) All the cruise components are shit easy to find!!
This week i could have collected 4 complete cruise systems from the wrecked cars ive seen. Probably the hardest thing to find is the fairmont steering wheel with the cruise buttons.

You will find that you need to run most of the wires yerself. But its not hard at all. A few from the dash and 3 too the engine compartment. I went to the wreckers and pulled a few various wiring looms from some falcons for a few small bucks. This way you can do a professional job by getting all the wire colours right!
And you never know when you'll need some extra auto wires!

I'll pass those diagrams on!

Brent
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2002, 17:19   #6 (permalink)
-
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 33
Posts: 1,675
thanks a heap dude.

ill have to try and get under the dash of my brothers car to work out where it all goes :) lucky he has a fairmont...! i might get down to pick a part this weekend, if the weather is alright...

my address is jbolger@claw.com.au

so what i need is just the cruise ECU, the steering wheel, the vacuum actuator and the cable to suit cfi/3spd. shit - was cruise even an option on non-mpefi cars...? any other parts required?

cheers!
galapogos01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2002, 21:52   #7 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Hey Jason,

I have the specification sheets for the EAs.... cruise was only available on Fairmont Ghia - LTD.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 05:08   #8 (permalink)
Death to Camry's!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Age: 32
Posts: 1,375
its not too hard to put an after market cruise control on the E series. I put one on my dads ED 4lt that was pretty easy, i put one on mi XD that i had, that was even easier... heh.
MightyEFGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 15:27   #9 (permalink)
-
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 33
Posts: 1,675
if it was only available on the fairmont _GHIA_ then i wont be able to put it into my car without some screwing around - this means its MPEFI only. the MPEFI throttle body is in a different place and the cable wont reach the CFI one...

DOH!
galapogos01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2002, 01:20   #10 (permalink)
E-Series Acting VP
 
Thanatos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 33
Posts: 1,432
Quote:
so what i need is just the cruise ECU, the steering wheel, the vacuum actuator and the cable to suit cfi/3spd
Does this mean that the right cable must be purchased to suit the transmission??? If so, I think my chances of finding a 5 speed with cruise are pretty slim... or could the 3spd or 4spd cable suit?


Quote:
i might get down to pick a part this weekend, if the weather is alright...
Jase, if you ever go to pick-a-part again, i'm gonna personally belt you over the head with the heaviest object i can find! Go to Jolly Rogers on Greens Road, Dandenong. They have a MUCH better selection of EA - EL (incl. Fairlane & LTD), and they change there stock at least once a week. AND they're cheaper, too!!!



Hey, Brent, would you mind sending me a copy of those diagrams as well: dave_saly@email.com

Cheers, mate!



Dave
__________________

Thanatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
AUII Cruise Control Problem Venom XR General Tech 6 06-16-2003 08:49
Cruise control packed it in ? Hyena General Tech 9 04-16-2003 20:45
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-2002 07:27
Ford Extends Offering of Delphi's Enhanced Adaptive Cruise Control For Jaguar Vehicle Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 08-30-2002 20:26

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.