Cruise control packed it in ? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-14-03, 01:22 AM Thread Starter
Mob Sh!tter Extrodinaire
 
Hyena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Age: 36
Posts: 126
Cruise control packed it in ?

Hey guys.

I rarely use my cruise control as I'm in traffic most of the time. I'm going away over the easter break though so I thought id'd give it a run to make sure it's working ok. Lucky I did cause the bloody thing aint working! The on and off buttons cause the dash cruise control light to come on and off but the + and - buttons don't have any effect.

Are there any common things that go wrong ? I checked for a blown fuse but can't find one for the cruise control so I assume it doesnt have one?

Any ideas ?
Thanks



5 speed 4.0 EF Futura
IT's Stage 4 engine
ET: 14.4 R/T: 0.001s !
Hyena is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-14-03, 01:25 AM
Powered by HAD
 
AusXH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Central Coast NSW
Age: 34
Posts: 1,328
Its common for dirt and grime to foul the contacts in the switch. I had a similar problem with mine where only the 'set -' button would work until I took it apart and gave it a bit of a clean.

Can find details on the http://www.fordmods.com/ web site.

PVTXR01
AusXH is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-14-03, 01:50 AM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
could either be the brake switch or if you have one the clutch switch adjustment

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-14-03, 05:17 AM
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 33
Posts: 3,104
Check the cable to the throttle?

Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-14-03, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
Mob Sh!tter Extrodinaire
 
Hyena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Age: 36
Posts: 126
I have been fiddling round in the foot well running cables for my stereo etc so I'll check it out. Maybe I bumped something...


5 speed 4.0 EF Futura
IT's Stage 4 engine
ET: 14.4 R/T: 0.001s !
Hyena is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-03, 06:20 AM
Birth, Drift, Death...
 
Rollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 34
Posts: 3,039
yeah check the adjustment of the switches on the top of the pedals, push them all the way forewards so you need to move the pedals heaps to get the cruise to turn off, (that way you know the switches are working) and then just adjust them back out a little at a time so you only have to dab the brake or clutch for it to disengage.

Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
*CLICK TO SEE MY XR6*
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-03, 05:52 PM
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 33
Posts: 3,104
If it's an EA/B or equivalent (NC), check that the vacuum hose to the top of the pedal is still on.

Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-03, 10:25 PM
It finally arrived May'03
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 170
You might want to check your rear brake lights if your running a current shape fairlane/LTD. The cruise is running the same circuit. Thats what fixed mine, so the ford boys said. Worth a try ?
MercSilvXR6 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-03, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Mob Sh!tter Extrodinaire
 
Hyena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Age: 36
Posts: 126
All fixed!

It turned out to be the clutch switch - it was only 3/4 push in when the clutch was at rest.
Thanks fellas


5 speed 4.0 EF Futura
IT's Stage 4 engine
ET: 14.4 R/T: 0.001s !
Hyena is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-03, 08:45 PM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
No worries mate.. Thats what we are here for..

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise control surging fixed xafalcon General Tech 3 11-01-03 02:48 AM
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-03 06:12 PM
AUII Cruise Control Problem Venom XR General Tech 6 06-16-03 08:49 AM
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-02 07:27 AM
Ford Extends Offering of Delphi's Enhanced Adaptive Cruise Control For Jaguar Vehicle Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 08-30-02 08:26 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome