Does my ED have a kick down cable? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2003, 16:18   #1 (permalink)
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,379
Does my ED have a kick down cable?

I noticed my car changes gear early at about 4500rpm in power and in the past I know it used to run to 5100rpm.

Since having the exhaust on it I noticed that it is now 4500rpm change and it feels too early, the car is still pulling and then it changes.

Is my throttle cable stretched or is the kick down cable stretched? Do i have a kick down cable on the 4spd ?
__________________
256rwkw @ 1920kgs
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2003, 17:02   #2 (permalink)
NOS + Boost = Fun
 
BlownV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ormeau, Gold Coast
Posts: 278
Re: Does my ED have a kick down cable?

You do not have a kick down cable on your car. As a test, i would put your car in 1st, and put it in power mode, accelerate the car until about 5100rpm. If it gets there, no probs with the car, just the computer. Disconnect the battery, and turn your car to accessories, this will disolve any charge in your battery. Leave it disconnected for about 30mins. ( i think this is how long it takes to reset ecu, correct me if i am wrong ) then reconnect the battery. Start your car and take it for a drive, actually, more like a flog, in power mode, accelerate to 5100rpm in 1st and 2nd, this should then re-learn the ecu.
__________________
70 GT Ford Capri
302 Windsor (347 someday)
Auto, Manual - Manual, Auto.
(I'll work it out one day)
Hilux Diff - 4.1 Detroit Locker
BlownV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 21:54   #3 (permalink)
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,379
On the relearn proceedure drive ... 'flog' ... should i change gears manually? Or let the auto well, be auto?

I assume you mean flog it manually so as to make it hold the gear.
__________________
256rwkw @ 1920kgs
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 22:09   #4 (permalink)
NOS + Boost = Fun
 
BlownV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ormeau, Gold Coast
Posts: 278
Re: Does my ED have a kick down cable?

you want to do both, but make sure, when in auto mode, ie drive, that you make the engine rev to the maximum shift point, i used to drive up a steep hill with my foot flat on the gas, as this loaded the engine and gearbox up.
__________________
70 GT Ford Capri
302 Windsor (347 someday)
Auto, Manual - Manual, Auto.
(I'll work it out one day)
Hilux Diff - 4.1 Detroit Locker
BlownV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 22:19   #5 (permalink)
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,379
Ok - and how many times should I do this? More than just one?
__________________
256rwkw @ 1920kgs
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 22:22   #6 (permalink)
NOS + Boost = Fun
 
BlownV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ormeau, Gold Coast
Posts: 278
Re: Does my ED have a kick down cable?

once the car is warm, driving it hard for about 5 minutes will do the trick. Thats all i used to do in my EB fairmont, it used to work a treat.

Good Luck.
__________________
70 GT Ford Capri
302 Windsor (347 someday)
Auto, Manual - Manual, Auto.
(I'll work it out one day)
Hilux Diff - 4.1 Detroit Locker
BlownV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 06:09   #7 (permalink)
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,379
Well I tested it tonight on the way home. Put her back in first and power and then floored it, she kicked back and ran through to the rev limiter and then I had to shift her up to second, but I didn't keep going from there cause I had to turn off to go home.

I 'll test the full auto mode tomorrow and if its still crook I'll try reseting the computer and running her hard a couple of times through first and second.
__________________
256rwkw @ 1920kgs
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 08:08   #8 (permalink)
I Love Forced Induction.
 
BLWNEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 569
Re: Does my ED have a kick down cable?

Your throttle cable could be streched causing the computer to change the auto, as its not sensing wot.
__________________
IF YOU DONT TRY IT YOU WONT KNOW.
BLWNEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 15:12   #9 (permalink)
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,379
How hard is it to change the throttle cable? They aren't dear are they?

Sounds to me like like a good thing to do anyway if its cheap and easy to replace.
__________________
256rwkw @ 1920kgs
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 23:41   #10 (permalink)
Australian Falcon Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 865
BLWNEB's comment is spot on - the first thing you need to do is check that you're getting WOT at the Throttle Body with the pedal flat to the floor - do it without the engine running - ie. have a look at what's physically happening at the Throttle Body while someone holds the pedal flat for you. I don't remember now - but if it's not reaching WOT there might be some adjustment for the cable down on the support bracket near the Throttle Body?

If you're getting WOT then Blown V8's computer reset suggestion is worth a try.

Hey, do keep in mind that the only time you should really get shifting at 5100rpm is at WOT - if you USED to get gear changes at 5100 with less than WOT before the exhaust was done then that was the unusual / incorrect way for it to run - maybe because the exhaust was restricted - ie. engine down on power (the vehicle speed vs engine rpm vs throttle position relationship goes out of whack if the engine is sick or being restricted).
__________________
IT'LL GO OR IT'LL BLOW!!!
EDFUTURA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost to a Civic Jamie General Tech 14 04-10-2002 14:09
Rooted Throttle Cable antigravity General Tech 2 03-29-2002 09:28
kick down cable question pavelow Ford F-100 | Ford F-150 | Ford F-250 | Ford F-350 | Ford Super Duty | Ford Diesel 0 03-01-2002 20:40
Cable damage slows BigPond Falchoon The Pub 2 02-10-2002 22:04

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.