EA falcon conversion - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-01-03, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: gold coat
Posts: 17
EA falcon conversion

Problem with conversion from CPI to MPI
*No kick down
*Harsh changing
*Clunking on down change 2nd gear

If u have any info that could help me please email me asap
steve_58 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-01-03, 11:12 PM
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,494
3 or 4 speed auto? 3 or 4 speed ECU?

A little more info and a few guys on here should be able to help

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-01-03, 11:21 PM
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Steve_58, Dude you dont have your throttle position sensor for your transmission connected.. The box has no idea how much throttle your applying. You need to cut and extend the 3 pin plug from the old TBI to the throttlebody on your new MPI... This is of course u have a 4spd auto.

Brent

EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-03, 12:42 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: gold coat
Posts: 17
yes i have a 4speed auto can u send me a diagram or let me know what wires a what if u dont mind
steve_58 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-03, 01:44 AM
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Have a look in yer engine bay, there should be a 3 pin connector just hanging there hear the oil dipstick. It is roundish and has blue/grey, blue/red and blue/white wires coming from it. You need to cut and extend these 3 wires about 30cm so it reaches the TPS on your throttlebody. You need to make sure the throttle body on the MPI has the dual TPS (ie, 2 of them) if not then ure in a bit of trouble and will need to get a later model throttle body from a 4spd EA or EB. The EA, EB MPI models with a 4spd auto have 2 TPS piggybacked on the throttle shaft. If you DO have the 2 TPS then its a simple job of connecting the extended connector to the TSP connector...

Brent

EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-03, 06:54 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: gold coat
Posts: 17
Thanks i will try it and c what happens i will get back to u and let u know thanks again
steve_58 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-03, 07:02 PM
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,494
Brent, on another note, if Im converting to MPFI with a 3 speed box, will it matter whether i have the dual tps or not?

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-03, 08:05 PM
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 66
Posts: 4,692
The 3 speed box is a mecanical auto, where the 4 speed auto is an electronic auto. the TPS is only needed for the ecu on a 3 speed.

Dot Aye You
NZ is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-03, 12:27 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: gold coat
Posts: 17
brent,79 still having trouble with idle some times good some times idles rough. It is hard to start at times when cold ok when warm,only have 1 plug on the TPS on the throttle body the wires are orange,green,black
steve_58 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-03, 03:12 AM
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,494
On the MPFI manifold there is a round plug with green orange and black coming from the TPS ( on throttlebody ), if I am using a 3 speed auto can I just leave that hanging?

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA to ED Falcon review Aussie Falcon The Pub 13 08-24-04 09:35 PM
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-03 07:12 PM
Falcon is ... Hobbes The Pub 26 08-05-03 07:14 AM
Differences between EA Falcon and EA S Falcon brenlam E-Series Falcons 32 11-22-02 01:30 AM
V8 Supercars Practice 1 & 2 JEM Ford Racing Across the Globe 1 04-26-02 10:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome