EF climate control help! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2002, 04:20   #1 (permalink)
Stand clear: 5.0 in use!

eek EF climate control help!

OK, I need the collective minds of all the EF/L experts here!

I've been putting up with a few CC problems for a couple of years now. One problem is that the airflow will not shift from the centre vents up to the screen or to the floor ducts. I have checked as much as I can and all appears OK. I can hear the system attempting to change the air direction, but doesn't have any success. This would indicate that the system is working and there is a mechanical problem.

Now, I am aware of the blend door. This only controls the amount of heat coming from the heater core, right? Is there another separate flap or valve which controls the DIRECTION of the air flow? And how would this relate to the footwell ducts on either side, which appear to have their own vacuum control?

I seem to remember someone a while back commenting that this problem was caused by a broken flap in the system. Can anyone elaborate? I can see the little vaccum plunger arm moving when I change from centre to demist to floor etc. Could a low vacuum affect this? I cannot for the life of me find any kinks or loose hoses anywhere.