EF Idle speed - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2003, 04:25   #1 (permalink)
EF Fairmont
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: King Island Tasmania
Posts: 72
EF Idle speed

What is the procedure for setting up the idle speed and the ISC unit??

__________________
Kempster1
kempster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2003, 04:58   #2 (permalink)
345kw of V8 Windsor Power
 
EDXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Age: 35
Posts: 2,784
As far as I know, you just unplug the ISC wiring, start the engine and set the idle speed, and then stop the engine and reconnect the plug. Make sure the engine is at running temp.
EDXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 06:09   #3 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
eh..... I think you have to disable the elf-adjust on the computer first. Can't remember how, though :)
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 12:55   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 27 00S 153 07E
Posts: 1,944
You should get a code 411 or 412 for idle speed irregularity. If not, could be something else. You should always read the codes before attempting any adjustments.
__________________
"I married Miss Right. I just didn't know her first name was Always."
TopGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 18:00   #5 (permalink)
EF Fairmont
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: King Island Tasmania
Posts: 72
I am getting those two codes and if I disconnect the ISC conector the engine just stalls.
__________________
Kempster1
kempster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 18:06   #6 (permalink)
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 31
Posts: 2,494
I know for an EA the procedure is

disconnect ISC
start car and idle for 1 minute without touch gas ( if yours stalls like mine u will have to turn the idle screw up until u can get it to idle)

set the idle so it is above 750rpm
Switch the engine off for a minimum of 10 seconds
Start the engine and let it idle for one minute ( again no accelerator )
adjust the idle so it is between 625rpm and 675rpm
Switch engine off and reconnect ISC
__________________
Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 05:45   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 35
The proceedure is:

Disconnect the ISC
Place a 0.75mm feeler guage in between the idle stop and the idle adjust screw
Start the car in self test mode (bridge the first top and bottom wires of the diagnostic connector) you now have 2mins to complete the adjustment
if the idle is not at 700rpm +-50 then adjust to 650 rpm
turn car off
un-bridge diagnostic wires
reconnect ISC
happy motoring with a nice smooth idle.......so long as your ISC is working.
Many people forget the 0.75mm feeler guage, so their idle is erratic. You need the 0.75mm gap so that the ISC has something to work with. If everything is set right the car will not start with the ISC disconnected!
sbcarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 16:27   #8 (permalink)
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 31
Posts: 2,494
is that the same for an EA sbcarden?? because my manual says nothing about putting it into self test or using a feeler gauge (???)
__________________
Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 19:34   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 35
I'm not sure. But when I have a think about it, it makes sense that it would be similar. First, in self test mode the computer leaves all settings at a base mark. Second, the way the ISC works, it needs to be able to raise and lower the idle to be able to fully control the idle speed. If you set the idle without the feeler guage then the ISC could only raise the idle. But then again maybe the computer in the EA's is not setup to control the idle, but to mearly raise the idle when under load, ie Air Con, etc.

Hey it can't hurt to try it with the feeler guage, just to see what happens. You never know, you may get a better idle......or your car may not start....50-50 chance I guess, but if you remember how many turn it took for the idle to be adjusted, it'll only take a few mins to get it back to how it was. I say try it, you've nothing to lose!
sbcarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
idle speed varies too much alexwoo Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum 4 07-15-2003 19:25
What is your idle speed? albl General Tech 14 04-06-2003 22:14
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-2003 10:13
Speed camera message getting through? Falchoon The Pub 1 04-29-2002 22:21
Did EF Futura's come out in a 5 speed??? NAPARM The Pub 6 04-29-2002 20:50

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.