Fairmont AU Speedo not working - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2003, 20:13   #1 (permalink)
kiwikangaroo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Fairmont AU Speedo not working

Have a 1999 Fairmont AU and at new the speedo had problems. It would stop working. Dealership after many tries fixed it but never knew the cause but just replaced everything. They would fix it then it would stop about 30Ks later. In the end they replaced the computers and wiring to do with the speedo.

Four years later and out of warranty it has stopped again. Anyone know the best people to fix it. I am in Melbourne in the SE area.

Affects the car a lot....auto gets to 3, holds the gears longer, odometer and trip computer and cruise dont now work.

Any ideas?????

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2003, 21:17   #2 (permalink)
T5 Expert Operator
 
XR_Strider_GuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 3Fb Skunk Works(JXR01 Dev)
Age: 34
Posts: 6,542
When it stops working how long does it stop for? Also is teh trip meter and odo still working or thats stopped as well. These questions might help isolate the problem.
__________________
Motor May 2001 Quote: "Believe it or not, there are actually a bunch of weirdos out there who reckon a six cylinder is the dux gutz. Bugger it: I'm one of them" :s5

AUII Late Ed XR6 HP T5 Venom- Full Tickford Body Kit, 17in Wheels, Herrod Bi-plane Spoiler, Momo Steer/Gear, T-Series Interior Options, Premium Stereo and a very light-tuned 4.0L I6

(FPV-Tickford Club of NSW Member and Co-Founding Member of 3FB Inc, Ford Forums Food Bandits)
XR_Strider_GuY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2003, 21:31   #3 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
I had this problem in my EB... was the actual speedo transducer in the gearbox. Would cause the gearbox to lock in 3rd. Since u didnt mention any problems with your gearbox, id say the fault is somewhere in the cluster itself...

Brent
__________________
EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2003, 21:33   #4 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
eeer... missed the 3rd paragraph. Yep, sounds like yer speedo sensor/transducer is rooted!! get it replaced!

Brent
__________________
EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2003, 21:41   #5 (permalink)
kiwikangaroo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
more detail

Thanks for the ideas.... it does affect the gearbox....holds in 3rd and is not smooth getting there. Also trip meter etc also dont work, rev counter is still ok.

And when it stops working it is permanent, not intermittent so something has packed up....sounds like the tranducer from what everyone is saying.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2003, 23:32   #6 (permalink)
AUIIIXR6VCT
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just take it back to ford, if it was a known fault with your car, in most cases they will fix it under warranty.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
AU Fairmont Ghia Exhaust...Tickford Option? VXSSV8 Exhaust 1 05-26-2003 16:51
BA Fairmont Ghia V8 review Go Auto sandmanls1 Australian Falcons 1 02-03-2003 22:45
Series 1 AU Forte V8/EL Fairmont I6 Clay Inline 6 Tech 7 08-23-2002 03:56
V8 Supercars Practice 1 & 2 JEM Ford Racing Across the Globe 1 04-26-2002 21:54

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:49.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.