G-Tech Meters - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2005, 00:33   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Glen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: At my desk..
Posts: 207
G-Tech Meters

I was just wondering how accurate the g-tech meters are. Anyone got one that can tell me??
Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2005, 01:27   #2 (permalink)
When 2 T3s are not enough
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,934
Re: G-Tech Meters

A mate got one, we have done some tests and the bloody close, If they tell ya you've done X time then you have, as long as there setup is correct....
__________________
TS50 no-125
TE50 no-94
"The TE50 is the best high performance sedan Australia has ever produced"
Street machine Feb 2002
TE50T3 Remember the GTHO? well your getting close.
Motor mag Jan 2002

Wouldn't you love to say that about your car?You loosers
Noboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 03:04   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Glen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: At my desk..
Posts: 207
Re: G-Tech Meters

Cool so it is a cheap alternative to a Dyno??
Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 03:24   #4 (permalink)
When 2 T3s are not enough
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,934
Re: G-Tech Meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen
Cool so it is a cheap alternative to a Dyno??
I dont know about that, its a good tool to know if you've got your 1/4 mile sorted though.........
__________________
TS50 no-125
TE50 no-94
"The TE50 is the best high performance sedan Australia has ever produced"
Street machine Feb 2002
TE50T3 Remember the GTHO? well your getting close.
Motor mag Jan 2002

Wouldn't you love to say that about your car?You loosers
Noboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 04:20   #5 (permalink)
5 Litres of Fun
 
fairmont1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Age: 40
Posts: 417
Re: G-Tech Meters

As long as you enter your vehicles exact weight with you in it they give a very close rear wheel power figure. You'll need to chuck your car on a weighbridge just before you do any power runs.
__________________
1998 EL Fairmont 5.0 V8.
Low, Loud. How a Ford should be.
fairmont1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 16:08   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TruBlu351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 2,398
Re: G-Tech Meters

They can be accurate, but mine is "consistantly" inaccurate, which isn't bad either.

I have an older style g-tech pro (small radar detector style). There is a new model available.

It consistantly showed my 1/4 mile times about 0.3-0.4 seconds more than actual. I took it to the strip a few weeks back on six runs. It showed my MPH trap speeds about 2mph higher than actual. They claim to be good within 0.1 sec????

Yep: note the fuel level in your tank and go to a weigh bridge (your local tip), with you in the car. Transfer the kilo's into pounds and enter into the g-tech for RWHP readings. They're not too bad.

So, they're not always totally exact, but consistant, which allows you to use them for testing and tuning and note any improvements.

Don't spend $300+ on them either. You can get them for $50-100 on ebay.
__________________
XE Falcon
393 Tremec TKO 9"
TruBlu351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 00:10   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Glen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: At my desk..
Posts: 207
Re: G-Tech Meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by TruBlu351
They can be accurate, but mine is "consistantly" inaccurate, which isn't bad either.

I have an older style g-tech pro (small radar detector style). There is a new model available.

It consistantly showed my 1/4 mile times about 0.3-0.4 seconds more than actual. I took it to the strip a few weeks back on six runs. It showed my MPH trap speeds about 2mph higher than actual. They claim to be good within 0.1 sec????

Yep: note the fuel level in your tank and go to a weigh bridge (your local tip), with you in the car. Transfer the kilo's into pounds and enter into the g-tech for RWHP readings. They're not too bad.

So, they're not always totally exact, but consistant, which allows you to use them for testing and tuning and note any improvements.

Don't spend $300+ on them either. You can get them for $50-100 on ebay.

All I want to do is when I do mods to see if there is a difference and roughly how much.
Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 04:44   #8 (permalink)
5 Litres of Fun
 
fairmont1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Age: 40
Posts: 417
Re: G-Tech Meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen
All I want to do is when I do mods to see if there is a difference and roughly how much.
It will be fine for that purpose.
__________________
1998 EL Fairmont 5.0 V8.
Low, Loud. How a Ford should be.
fairmont1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 05:14   #9 (permalink)
345kw of V8 Windsor Power
 
EDXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Age: 35
Posts: 2,784
Re: G-Tech Meters

I just got one the other day and as others have said, if they are set up correctly they are accurate. For power readings you need the correct vehicle weight, and for power and 0-100kph/1/4 mile runs you need a dead flat stretch of road. Any road that isnt dead flat will make the reading inaccurate, but even then if you test on the same stretch of road each time it will be consistant. Great tuning tool IMO.
EDXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 17:54   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Townsville NQ
Age: 32
Posts: 797
Re: G-Tech Meters

my house mate has one of the latest models and he has set it up for his GTR dead spot on. He was able to replicate his 1/4mile runs and power levels in the gtech.

with this thing he had to enter not only weight, but also the cooficient, 4wd, etc

we started setting it up for my car and get it pretty close, within .1 sec. dunno about kW figures as every dyno in town reads something different for my car

but yes i belive it a rather good tuning tool
__________________
EvilChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APS Intercooled Twin Turbo Sydney Tech Day - Dec 4th aps FPV & Tickford Forum 35 12-06-2004 01:20
Workshop - Tech sheet AU ECU start up Mr Cube The Pub 3 11-14-2004 22:58
Ford Mustang Mach 1, High tech meets old tech Stacy94PGT Ford Mustang Forum 4 04-16-2003 16:40
close call HSE2 The Pub 36 01-09-2002 10:52

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:54.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.