Hot chips - please explain? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2002, 16:29   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Falchoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 3,544
Hot chips - please explain?

I know the subject of aftermarket perfomance chips has been discused at length previously but I am still in the dark as to what they allegedly do. Can someone please explain (in laymens terms)?
__________________
You know, somebody actually complimented me on my driving today. They left a little note on the windscreen. It said, 'Parking Fine.'So that was nice.

____o00o_=^..^=_o00o____
Falchoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2002, 16:44   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Searching for a new home
Posts: 3,657
Without going into the merits of whether they actually work or don't - as I know there are conflicting views on the subject I will attempt a simple explanation of their purpose.

The standard ignition/air/fuel mapping on most factory vehicles is going to be a compromise between performance, economy and variable fuel quality. The modified chips will generally be slanted more towards performance than economy with agressive air/fuel/spark maps that also assume relatively good quality fuels.

In short, therefore, they aim to produce closer to optimum air/fuel ratios across the rev range in conjunction with more advanced timing settings.
As a general comment this is not harmful (whether it works or not) on vehicles with knock sensors but can potentially lead to detonation on those vehicles which don't - especially if fuel is not up to its stated octane rating.

Hope this isn't overly simple.
russellw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 16:52   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Falchoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 3,544
So your saying they don't necessaraily work? A bit like Brock's infamous Polariser?
__________________
You know, somebody actually complimented me on my driving today. They left a little note on the windscreen. It said, 'Parking Fine.'So that was nice.

____o00o_=^..^=_o00o____
Falchoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 18:17   #4 (permalink)
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 41
Posts: 3,585
Quiet simply Errrr Yes & No
If you buy a "Chip" straight off the shelf & slap it into a Stock 6 or 8 ... chances are you wont get squat out of it, maybe just abit more Fuel consumption.
But
I have seen dyno charts where the engine in question has been modified ie exhaust intake etc.... And it has picked up afair few more kw from a "Chip".
Personally I run a Chiptorque Module. this is the 3rd chip I have installed & It took just over 6mths before a "Technician" from chiptorque came over to WA & programmed mine & afew others in REALTIME ie on a dyno & the street. Yes Im pretty happy with the end result considering the first chip set me back $590 whilst the second & third were on exchange @ $230 & the cost of the tuning $300... If they cant guarantee to do it on a dyno dont waste your $$$ get a Unichip or better still see XR9 Ute for one of his little toys....
__________________
FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 20:40   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
I agree with SVO302. Unless it is real time programmed on a Dyno, dont waste your money.

Everycar is different, so the non programmable chips are not suited to your car.
__________________
:beerchuge
blue_xr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 20:46   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Falchoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 3,544
OK, so if you in theory you had a car, say a *5.0 VN Commodore* that already had a chip (brand unknown) and had unknown engine mods and then you stroked the motor to around 327/331 this would make the chip useless, unless you can get it real time programmed on a Dyno?
__________________
You know, somebody actually complimented me on my driving today. They left a little note on the windscreen. It said, 'Parking Fine.'So that was nice.

____o00o_=^..^=_o00o____
Falchoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 20:49   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
Falchoon.

1st step would be to find out what type of chip it is. There is a chance that it might be a reprogrammable one.

If it is a chiptorque (very popular with Holdens) you can actually send it away to lachlan in QLD and get it programmed to suit the new mods.

If its a powerchip, you can use it as a doorstop.
__________________
:beerchuge
blue_xr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 20:50   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 319
Hey u guys have heard of power chip, now from what i have read their chips are non programable, and can not be modified on a dyno like a unichip. But can they reprogram it to ur car, i got my hands on a power chip gold and was wondering if they can at least change it to be model specific. if that makes any sense.
madEAs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 21:10   #9 (permalink)
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 41
Posts: 3,585
I think you'll find if its already bought & fitted is already "Model Specific".
Ie you wouldnt be able to fit one from an ELXR8 EEC5 to an EBXR8 EEC4.
I do know however that if the trans were the same & the eec the same ie eec4 to eec4 they do fit as a friend of mine tried it out on his modified Ford.
Once the chip Module itself is "Burnt" it can no longer be changed by re-programming, a new module is needed. This applies to powerchip chiptorque etc. the modules are called "Eprom's"
Holden to name 1 is able to prog & reprogram "Eproms"

AS with Falchoon's "Q" a new program would be needed to suit the new engine's capacity/perameters or with the way Kalmakers software works if it is a "Holden" Eprom its simply a case of re-programming which can be done in realtime
IE thats why they used holden gear etc on that Sony Scorcher they did sometime ago.
__________________
FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 21:18   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 319
mmm ok, well hows this, i took a chip off a cfi manual, and was curious to see if it worked in my car.. auto mpfi, went in but no idea if made any difference. in my mind i assumed the car should not run or start but it did. That why i was asking, and eproms can be reburnt cant they? Is there any way to find out if the EECIV has taken the chip or not?

Thanx guys
madEAs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chips (not the edible ones) rextus General Tech 2 11-27-2002 06:29
Stone Chips CongoVCT General Tech 9 07-06-2002 05:35
Alright! Explain this Rating system! supercharged Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum 7 11-27-2001 15:56
Herrod - Appreciate your opinion on chips etc EA S General Tech 10 09-03-2001 02:00
How much power from power chips? EA S General Tech 13 07-04-2001 00:49

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:13.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.