intrument globes - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2003, 02:32   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 345
intrument globes

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

need to change globes on AU instrument cluster,AU double din radio & T-Bar selector as it is rather dark at night with blown globes.Anyone give me any clues,looking for an easy way
__________________
AU series1 Futura Duel Fuel,ceramic coated Pacemaker Headers,Hi-Flow cat.2.5in. exhaust,T-series snorkel,K&N panel filter,D.B.A.Slotted Rotors
taximan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2003, 05:20   #2 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
Taximan - there is no easy way. you have to remove the instrument cluster to do the dash, at least loosen if not completely remove the centre console for the T-bar light and remove the radio, plus the fascia to get to the globes.

All up it's about 2 hours work! And I did it for fun, not because I had to!
__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2003, 05:27   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 345
JCV8-shame your in canberra as you do this for fun you could do mine,as I am basically lazy I always look for an easy way.more fun driving cars than fixing them
__________________
AU series1 Futura Duel Fuel,ceramic coated Pacemaker Headers,Hi-Flow cat.2.5in. exhaust,T-series snorkel,K&N panel filter,D.B.A.Slotted Rotors
taximan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2003, 06:10   #4 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
If you were in Canberra I would be only too glad to help. I have as much fun fixing/working on them as I do driving them.

Believe it or not - the instrument lights are actually the easiest to do - I would do them first, then do the others if you still need more light.
__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 04:45   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AUIIXpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Newcastle NSW AUST
Age: 48
Posts: 18
what is the best way to start with the instrument cluster?
I mean how best is it to remove it?
AUIIXpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 05:22   #6 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
There's a thread written by T3man that gives excellent instructions on how to do this - I re-wrote it to suit the way I did it. I'll try to find one or both threads and post the links in here.

Found One: (You can use allen keys instead of bending a screwdriver - when you read the thread you'll know what I'm talking about).

Remove AU Instrument Cluster
__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 23:30   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 345
Well I change the dash globes,broke some plastic clips on the clear lense but looks alright when back together.Globes aren't cheap though $3.50ea. for the instrument ones & $10ea. for the odometer ones.Still would like to know how to pull the radio apart to change those globes,not going to worry about the T-Bar light as looks like to much work
__________________
AU series1 Futura Duel Fuel,ceramic coated Pacemaker Headers,Hi-Flow cat.2.5in. exhaust,T-series snorkel,K&N panel filter,D.B.A.Slotted Rotors
taximan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Con/Heater Globes EFFalcon General Tech 0 05-17-2003 03:34
Bathurst Globes. galaxy xr8 General Tech 15 11-19-2002 23:53
Artic Blue Globes XF Falcon General Tech 17 08-22-2002 05:54
Headlight globes keep blowing The Goodz Superchargers | Turbos | N2O 16 06-29-2002 18:05
Blown Light Globes 211 Superchargers | Turbos | N2O 5 05-27-2002 05:00

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.