Kill Switches - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2001, 04:23   #1 (permalink)
Saving for a BA XR6t
 
SIM EF6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 171
Question Kill Switches

Kill switches are just a little switch\button placed somewhere around the car right? So that when you get in to drive off, you simply flick the discretely placed switch so that the ignition circuit is complete?

Please correct me if im wrong here.

Just wondering, are they easy to make? (or is it simpler to just buy one off the shelf?)

thanks
__________________
SIM EF6....a.k.a....Dragunov
SIM EF6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2001, 06:53   #2 (permalink)
EL Fairmont Ghia Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Geelong
Posts: 190
I am pretty sure that is exactly what they are, perhaps, just tap into the main wire, and put a switch in somewhere, car wont start without a circuit............

But probaly best to speak to an expert...........

Jas
VilkasMaximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2001, 20:45   #3 (permalink)
Saving for a BA XR6t
 
SIM EF6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 171
frown

judging by the amount of responses I got then obviously people like that arn't hanging out here :rolleyes:

no, just joking
__________________
SIM EF6....a.k.a....Dragunov
SIM EF6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2001, 22:38   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocklyn
Posts: 7,750
I have had two of my cars fitted with such devices and am considering it for the XR , but it is not something that I would want to advertise. Work great especially if you can get the switch placed in an out of the way position
HSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2001, 22:45   #5 (permalink)
Saving for a BA XR6t
 
SIM EF6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 171
Yeah, it would not be too hard for someone who is lurking to catch you in the act of alternating the switch position...

Did purchase a kit for your cars? Or just make up a system yourself?
__________________
SIM EF6....a.k.a....Dragunov
SIM EF6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2001, 22:48   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocklyn
Posts: 7,750
No I had an auto electrician do both jobs. Electric systems are not for me!
HSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2001, 04:25   #7 (permalink)
Crazed Cone Chaser
 
MADXF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,524
The easiest way is to intercept one of the wires from the coil and place a switch in it. They can turn the engine over but it wont start.
The other way is to have a switch to disable the electric fuel pump.

The best one I have ever seen is this one...

http://www.autospeed.com/A_0059/page1.html

read it and you'll see.


Paul.
__________________
Do I really have to write something funny in here?

DILLIGAF: a subsiduary of the DGAF NOP group of companies.
BSR Member - 'Blanky' 'ConeKiller'

Go Here for My Garage Sale
MADXF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2001, 07:57   #8 (permalink)
lens boy
 
spyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne,AUS
Age: 43
Posts: 71
Re: kill switch

sim ef6
I had one in my crumadore for years wired to my cig lighter(non-smoker) when you pulled it out and put it in console the pricks couldn't start it.
stumbed them for years. :eek: :D
spyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2001, 02:51   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocklyn
Posts: 7,750
Thumbs up Re: Re: kill switch

Quote:
Originally posted by spyman
sim ef6
I had one in my crumadore for years wired to my cig lighter(non-smoker) when you pulled it out and put it in console the pricks couldn't start it.
stumbed them for years. :eek: :D
That is a beauty. Wouldn't have thought of that!
HSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2001, 03:29   #10 (permalink)
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
Seriously whats the good of a Kill switch when all you need is a Tow truck and the cars gone and gutted in 2 hours????

A decent Alarm with SAT tracking is the go for the investment
laminge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
Automotive Switches Bass Crazy General Tech 10 02-03-2003 19:44
EF brake switches - I hate you honer Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 3 11-22-2002 15:01
Replacing various Dash switches SiX_iN_a_RoW Interior | Electrical | ECU 1 09-10-2002 21:57
Discovery switches on a DVD pack HSE2 Land Rover 0 04-23-2002 22:36

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:57.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.