Major stalling problem!! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2003, 02:43   #1 (permalink)
400 kg ego
 
Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
eek Major stalling problem!!

My computer has suddenly developed the most annoying problem - after about 10 minutes of usage it just switches completely off! A bit like a power failure except it's not.

The ISC seems fine and it idles normally. I'd checked the leads and there don't appear to be any temperature issues. I'm going to have to take a good look under the hood. I hope it's not a CPU gasket or something... It's a 3 year old Pentium 3 for what it's worth.

In the meantime, consider me out of business because I can't achieve anything. :sook:
__________________
Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2003, 02:59   #2 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 30
Posts: 2,142
mmm have you tapped into it and found any fault codes?

I reckon it might need a conversion to MPI (Mega Pentium Injection) perhaps some lumpier RAM and even a mild porting of the Hard Drive.

Should be easily fixed, although make sure its not leaking coolant! Those CPU gaskets can be a real pain....
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 03:13   #3 (permalink)
E-Series Club Member
 
Jamie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 198
uhhhh.. did I miss something there?
__________________
<b><font color="#000080"><font face="Arial" size="2">1992 EB Falcon GL [ </font></font><font face="Arial" size="1" color="#0000FF">Series 1</font><font color="#000080" face="Arial" size="2"> ]</font></b><br><font face="Arial" size="1"><a href="http://discussions.fordforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=37673">4 Speed Auto with Shift Mod</a><br>Interior Neons<br>MPFI Conversion [sn]</font>
Jamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 03:45   #4 (permalink)
LET EM' RIPPP
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,819
Dead set.. you guys crack me up!!!!!!!
__________________
CAUTION: Slippery When BOOSTING!
Bass Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 04:34   #5 (permalink)
 
PHoeNiX_EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hyper Space!!
Posts: 1,010
My 1.4 athlon started doing the same thing about a month ago and it got progressivly worse. At the moment its in pieces. First I thought it was a powersuppoly problem but changing cases soon told me i was wrong. Theres a small crack in one of the tracks on the motherboard caused by prolonged exposure to heat, thanks to being switched on 24/7. I will buy another board for it soon but for now i have to use a shitty old 433 for my Gateway

Check the Ram, see if its in the sockets properly.
Check the power supply. If its an AT case, just unplug the motherboard completely and leave it of to see if it turns itself off after a given time!
Check the Power button. (ATX CASE) unplug the power button from the mother board and use a screwdriver to short out the pins where it pluged in to turn it on. Wait to see if it turns off again!
ummm... maybe examine the motherboard for signs of cracks and scorch marks ect. The motherboard CD may have also come woth a diagnostic program that checks if the board is functioning properly.
If ya Need a CPU to get ya buy for a while, let me know, i have plenty of old systems lying around.
Good luck man, hope i could help.

PHoeNiX_
PHoeNiX_EB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 05:22   #6 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
I had a bung power board with one of those reset switches that did this sort of thing. I threw it with some force into the paddock at the front of my house. Problem solved.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 07:26   #7 (permalink)
 
PHoeNiX_EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hyper Space!!
Posts: 1,010
hehe reminds me of mt first PC!
When it finally died we pulled it apart, used the Keyboard for target practice and eventually threw the Monocrome Monitor and CPU off a bridge! Certianly made me feel better!
PHoeNiX_EB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 16:13   #8 (permalink)
-
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 33
Posts: 1,675
10 minutes every time? if its a bit less than 10 after the first time it shuts down, its more than likely heat related - first thing id be checking is CPU fan, followed by power supply fan. especially after 3 years of use - fans arent made to last.

modern motherboards will switch off the system when CPU heat rises too much - so thats what it sounds like to me.

good luck!

Jase
galapogos01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 16:24   #9 (permalink)
SB3
E-Series Member
 
SB3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 231
Sounds like the power supply to me. A 300W should cost you around $35 from the swapmeets. You might even be better off paying an extra 15 bucks and buying a new case which will come with a power supply anyway. Yours is most likely an Atx.
I'm pretty sure it will be at the Showgrounds this Sunday.
Goodluck
SB3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 16:29   #10 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Well lift up the hood, get out the vaccum cleaner, and the inside of a toilet roll, stick on the end, crush it slightly and suck out the dust ya can.

May help.

Dellboy999
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA CFI 3sp auto (1989): Problem with idle return sambulance Inline 6 Tech 4 08-09-2003 04:06
95 CV engine problem 95CV Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 9 04-22-2003 20:17
SHO stopper: Engine problem in high-performance Taurus angers fans Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 10-23-2002 21:39
Engine problem brenx General Tech 14 07-17-2002 03:08
Defective GM engines $30+ Bilion problem. Discovery The Pub 11 03-21-2002 18:37

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:11.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.