Memory Wire - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2003, 03:02   #1 (permalink)
MK2 Escort 1300GT
 
EA90_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 618
Memory Wire

Ive got a radio with a memory wire. i need to know where could i hook it up in a ford escort. i was thinking about the emergny blinkers?? any ideas coz with out it the clock turns off and all the stuff doesnt save. would the clock runing be enuff to flat the battery overnite. my mate thinks it does ??
__________________
76 MKII Escort 1.3 My PJ
92 Supra TT
91 EA S
EA90_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2003, 03:07   #2 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Edited by ME


Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 04:27   #3 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singleton New South Wales
Age: 35
Posts: 23
by memory wire i assume you mean constant b+??? if so you really shouldnt be splicing into anything like hazards, cig lighter etc as being an auto electrician i have seen some funny shit. really to do it properly you should run a wire direct from your memory wire on the head deck straight to positive side of battery and FUSE IT!!! use at most a 10amp fuse. hope this helps.
nathanjobrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 06:05   #4 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Oh shit ignore my post above. I was thinking about your accessories wire not your memory or constant.
Follow nathan's response. This is the best you can do. It wont drain the battery. Run a wire to the +ve side of the battery with a 10amp inline fuseholder and all will be well.

Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 16:21   #5 (permalink)
MK2 Escort 1300GT
 
EA90_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 618
i might just bring it to a autoelec. cbf hookin it up.
__________________
76 MKII Escort 1.3 My PJ
92 Supra TT
91 EA S
EA90_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 16:36   #6 (permalink)
MK2 Escort 1300GT
 
EA90_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 618
if i do choose to do it myself can i just use normal wire or do i have to use the thick stuff. btw there should be hole in da firewall of were the other wires would have went where can that be. and can i use a plate thingy like the ea's have on the battery and hook the wire to that. its for a escort
__________________
76 MKII Escort 1.3 My PJ
92 Supra TT
91 EA S
EA90_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 18:07   #7 (permalink)
MK2 Escort 1300GT
 
EA90_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 618
rang up the autoelec he goes just find the constant 12 on the ciggy lighter and put it there with a 5 amp fuse he said its only a memory wire. is that ok guys or is he wrong.
__________________
76 MKII Escort 1.3 My PJ
92 Supra TT
91 EA S
EA90_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 18:07   #8 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
You can just use 10amp wire which is normal i think. You can buy it in rolls for like 3 bucks from repco and bunnings. Put an inline fuse holder with a 10 amp fuse in it near the battery probs another $2. and run the wire to that.
To attach it to the the battery it would probably be easiest to get a ring connector and put the bolt on the terminal through it. just make sure it is secure and it will be fine.
Probs will cost shit all if an auto electrician does it but it definately isnt difficult and would probably take 5 minutes.

Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 18:09   #9 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
If you can turn the cigaerette lighter on while the car is off then it would be fine.
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 18:22   #10 (permalink)
MK2 Escort 1300GT
 
EA90_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 618
ah yer stupid auto electrician. damm that means i gotta put it trough the firewall nuts.
__________________
76 MKII Escort 1.3 My PJ
92 Supra TT
91 EA S
EA90_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone have a Millennium FX pager Jamie XR6 Audio And Security 182 10-31-2004 01:30
BTR Electronic 4 speed Shift Kits 9psi EB Trans | Driveline 227 10-21-2004 03:34
Speed sensor wire - 9/88 EA S Sundeep General Tech 11 06-25-2003 02:33
Thermo Fans fordman3512002 General Tech 28 06-05-2003 17:45
INDICATOR WIRE - HELP PLZ Sundeep The Pub 11 04-26-2002 20:33

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.