No fault codes - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2002, 00:43   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: perth WA
Posts: 49
Question No fault codes

My mpfi EA has problems like idling at 1500rpm after driving for a while, wont run after starting without using the accelerator, and the car jerks a lot when i let my foot off the accelerator. The worst thing is one day it runs sweet, the next i get all those problems. I have replaced just about every sensor there is and even the ECU with no luck. My problem but, is that my car wont bring up any fault codes from the ecu, not even a pass code. Has anyone had a similar problem that they've fixed?
brjamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2002, 01:25   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
Id check the idle speed controller.
Its near the throttle body, and basically the thing controls the cars idle, as well as blipping the throttle when down shifting gears in the auto (Kinda like heel toeing a manual).

This thing can get a little grease and oil in it, (especially if you are running K&N Filters).

Mine starts to stick every 5000K's, so I am always ripping it off, and cleaning it out.

I am fairly certain that this is your problem !

Check out this page. I know the pics are from an EF, but the same Idle speed controller is used on the EA, its just mounted upside down (I think from memory)

Hope this helps
Matti
http://users.tpg.com.au/users/mij/Au.../Problems.html
Xyphoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 02:09   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: perth WA
Posts: 49
Thanks Xyphoid, i will try that.

I'd still like to know why my ecu wont bring up codes though.
brjamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking fault codes KingKurt General Tech 7 05-04-2003 13:09
Can I check fault codes? KingKurt Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri 11 04-04-2003 12:54
Fault codes that don't exist MustardX General Tech 25 10-25-2002 04:16
EF Fault Codes (EECV) XR_Strider_GuY E-Series Falcons 4 10-23-2002 19:45
EEC4 Fault codes MK XR8 General Tech 32 02-13-2002 21:29

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.