no power at top end?!?!? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2002, 06:34   #1 (permalink)
Birth, Drift, Death...

no power at top end?!?!?

hello peoples, this is my first post, i got a link to here from posting a question on CAA - www.caraudioaustralia.com so i hope you can help me. i am a 3rd year apprentice mechanic (at holden, sadly, please dont hold it against me) so i have a little clue about how things should work and what makes them do so, but this has me stumped.

my car is a manual 1992 EB XR6 - http://cardomain.com/id/falconxr6 - and it has issues.

when you free-rev it, it hits the limiter no worries, but when in gear and under load ie flat to the floor in second, it will not rev past 4750 rpm. when you pick the next gear, it kind of hesitates before picking up and accelerating again.

the cat is not damaged externally, i have replaced the fuel filter, dizzy cap, rotor, leads, fitted a K&N pod filter, checked the fuel pump flow rate - 300cc in 10 sec, spec is 280cc in 10 sec - reset the computer, fitted a new thermostat (was stuck open) visually checked anything that i think may affect the cars ability to rev.