Ford Forums banner

oil pressure and stalling

2K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  ONE39L 
#1 ·
i took my ea to work today (its first day of commuting i bought it yesterday) and whats really annoying me is the oil light keeps comming on at idle now im an apprentice mechanic so im gathering oil pressure switch has had it or the oil pump is on its way out (and yes the sump is full of oil) havent had time to connect a pressure tester to it to be sure any suggestions?
also it constantly stalls and splutters when at idle when its cold is this common and is there a way to fix it?

#2 ·
hey mate.

what rpm is the egnine doing when the light is on? if its only just ticking over then it might just be lack of revs causeing the light to come on.

could be a switch, could be that you oil pump is stuffed, or a bearing in your crankcase is stuffed and the excess clearance is letting the pressure out...kidding mate these last 2 are very very unlikely to be the problem.

is it a center fire injected ea or a multipoint one?

i dont know how to reset the base idle on ea's, so i cant help there, but if anyone cen tell you how to reset the base idle then i suggest thats what you do first - 99% of the time thats why these cars stall at idle.

i know money scarce when you are an apprentice - trust me, i have been there mate, and there still isnt enough floating around to satesfy, but anyway, i think you should replace all the filters you can anyway - change oil, oil filter, air filter, fuel filter, spark plugs, leads, rotor button, dizzy cap etc, and check the base timing - its supposed to be 10 degrees in diagnostic mode but i reckon you will get away with 12 while still running normal unleaded.

after all that she should run very sweetly.

#3 ·