Please clear up base mode for me! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-10-04, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
snavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: mebourne
Posts: 1,969
Please clear up base mode for me!

Hey i got an EL falcon, i did the timing on it, put the car in base mode. Started the car up, the idle seems to hover higher, then drop to around idle speed after around 15 seconds. Is this where i check the timing?

Over at Fordmods, someone told me you have to wait till the idle drops twice after the first high idle to check the timing?

So basically, start the car, higher idle, drop in idle after 15 seconds, then after around 1.5 - 2 minutes it drops once more, till it almost stalls, this is when to check the idle.

I did this procedure, right or wrong?

thanks

snavy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-10-04, 10:51 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
snavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: mebourne
Posts: 1,969
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

pretty please? anyone?

thanks
snavy is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-10-04, 10:57 PM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

Its wrong
When you bridge the top & bottom l/h/s pins start the car, idle should sit on around 1700 revs therebouts. Do the timing then .. Yes you only have 20 or so seconds to do the timing before it reverts back to its normal mode.
Get your timing light out & check the timing its on ..
Should be 10 degrees????
If its alot higher its not in base timing mode.

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-04, 12:19 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
snavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: mebourne
Posts: 1,969
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

ah so right after starting the engine, i got the wrong info!

Yeah i remember starting the car in base mode, and the idle is around 1700RPM.

thanks.
snavy is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-04, 12:31 AM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

no dramas mate your Welcome

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-04, 01:37 AM
Registered User
 
SPALDING GREEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 326
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

The timing should be checked after the rpm has come down, while the rpm is high the pcm is looking for the p/steer p/switch & brake light signals,IAC operation etc, then you can check timing. This is the self test mode, it is held for 2min's which explains why the idle drops for a second time.
SPALDING GREEN is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-04, 03:02 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
snavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: mebourne
Posts: 1,969
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

ah!!!! ive now copped first 15 seconds, after 2 minutes, now the times in between!!!!

SO WHAT IS IT???
snavy is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-04, 03:28 AM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

Mate its how i do mine...
If your that damn unsure take it to a professional

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-04, 04:13 AM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

Ok Ok I can do this.. It seems Iam noting the Selftest for a V8, therefore I am wrong..
My appologies to you spalding Green & to you also snavy,
Green has the right proceedure.
Hmmmm Humble Pie..

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-04, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
snavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: mebourne
Posts: 1,969
Re: Please clear up base mode for me!

ok cool, after the first drop in rpm!

do i have it? :)
snavy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base mode. snavy Inline 6 Tech 0 06-11-04 03:24 AM
Asia:Ford to set up second production base in China Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 04-07-04 09:16 AM
Getting into KOEO mode BluAU2 Australian Falcons 5 02-24-04 03:40 PM
Need info on computer diagnostic mode avenger454 Interior | Electrical | ECU 0 09-10-03 06:56 AM
Ford Probe Base, SE, and GT 1993-1997 Specifications. Stacy94PGT Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum 0 06-26-02 09:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome