proximity sensors - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2002, 04:24   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sydney, Oz
Age: 34
Posts: 2,631
proximity sensors

or whatever you call them...

are they available as aftermarket items because i'm getting sick and tired of getting out of the car to check how much room i've got when parking front-to-curb. i only want to mount them up front.

has anyone got any info?
__________________
<p align="center"> *** just because it sells it doesn't mean it's good *** </p>
Tickford Owners Club of NSW
MrPlow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-15-2002, 04:49   #2 (permalink)
345kw of V8 Windsor Power
 
EDXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Age: 35
Posts: 2,784
Jaycar Electronics do them in kit form for $24.95. They can be set to distances of between 10 and 80cm, and trigger an led or buzzer. Cat number KG9158 on www.jaycar.com.au
EDXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2002, 05:00   #3 (permalink)
Battens PerformanceTuning
 
EDxr8EBgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Western Australia (Perth)
Posts: 211
I would go with that as well. Jaycar.
There are other solid state ultrasonics devices such as the ones I work with but are hell expensive, around the 200 to 300 buck mark.
__________________
check out www.norcom.net.au/~bpt
EDxr8EBgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2002, 05:48   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sydney, Oz
Age: 34
Posts: 2,631
awesome! thanks guys!
__________________
<p align="center"> *** just because it sells it doesn't mean it's good *** </p>
Tickford Owners Club of NSW
MrPlow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2002, 16:42   #5 (permalink)
5Litres of Ford Power
 
ELGhiaV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Age: 38
Posts: 100
Hi all,

I'm not an expert in electronics so I have a few questions ...

How would you connect it up so that the sensors are not damaged by water etc flicking up into the front of the car from rain ? Also how far can you extend the wires so that the LED/buzzer will still work if the PCB is mounted at the front bumper when you want the LED/buzzer in the cabin ?
One more thing is this unit able to be connected to the car battery?

Cheers
Wardy.
__________________
Go The Roaring Fords !!
ELGhiaV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2002, 16:46   #6 (permalink)
Old Car:BA XR6 New: 97 EL
 
jaytyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,031
Hey Nick, let me know what you find... i'd be interested.

Expecially with my XR bumper and fornt spoilers, I have to be very careful when parking infront of those concrete stops in shopping centres etc.

They would take the spoilers straight off and scratch the bar its soo low.

The sensors would be a great diea to know when you are 10cm away etc.
jaytyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2002, 16:58   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sydney, Oz
Age: 34
Posts: 2,631
i'll go down to jaycar in nth parra as soon as possible, and i'll let you guys know.
__________________
<p align="center"> *** just because it sells it doesn't mean it's good *** </p>
Tickford Owners Club of NSW
MrPlow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2002, 00:24   #8 (permalink)
351 - What a magic number
 
XD 351 Ute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Central Queensland Coast
Age: 45
Posts: 772
Most proximity switches I know of require a ferrous metal tab to activate them. We have them fitted to all sorts of equipment at work, so that the electronic system that operates our plant knows when things are going or not. Maybe there are other types of activation available..... Most proximity switches are also very expensive........

Ed :)
__________________
Original XD 351 Ute - I got one!!

HSV - I just don't want one....EVER!

My XF 3 on the tree ute is ALWAYS stuck in third......
XD 351 Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2002, 01:30   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
The Jaycar Proximity Parking sensor works on an Ultrasonic pair, (One sends an Ultrasonic Frequency, the other recieves it).

Because Ultrasonic Sound (>40Khz) is very directional, any object that comes close to the Sender or reciever will disturb the sound generated, and will give a reasonable idea of the distance the object is.

The Ultrasonic sensors are installed outside the vehicle and are about 1.5cm in Diameter.
You will obviously need to mount these somewhere, and Drill a very small hole to run the cabling for them.
The US pair are weather proof (Doesnt matter if they get wet), and the Amplifier/Reciever Board should be mounted inside the vehicle, so as it doesnt get wet or anything.
Also the Unit runs off 12V.

Cheers
Matti
Xyphoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2002, 02:55   #10 (permalink)
351 - What a magic number
 
XD 351 Ute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Central Queensland Coast
Age: 45
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally posted by Xyphoid
The Jaycar Proximity Parking sensor works on an Ultrasonic pair, (One sends an Ultrasonic Frequency, the other recieves it).

Because Ultrasonic Sound (>40Khz) is very directional, any object that comes close to the Sender or reciever will disturb the sound generated, and will give a reasonable idea of the distance the object is.

The Ultrasonic sensors are installed outside the vehicle and are about 1.5cm in Diameter.
You will obviously need to mount these somewhere, and Drill a very small hole to run the cabling for them.
The US pair are weather proof (Doesnt matter if they get wet), and the Amplifier/Reciever Board should be mounted inside the vehicle, so as it doesnt get wet or anything.
Also the Unit runs off 12V.

Cheers
Matti
Well there you go.. I learn something new every day!!
Ed :)
__________________
Original XD 351 Ute - I got one!!

HSV - I just don't want one....EVER!

My XF 3 on the tree ute is ALWAYS stuck in third......
XD 351 Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford, Sensors, Inc., Put Emissions Testing On Wheels RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 03-21-2003 07:05
Sensors... antigravity General Tech 7 10-23-2002 18:28
Dashboard Sensors oz_orion Interior | Electrical | ECU 9 08-26-2002 22:44
How Often To Replace o2 & MAP Sensors ? redwards General Tech 1 02-08-2002 05:43
Understanding Engine Management - Part 1 Dan [Sac] V6 and Hot4 Tech 0 12-11-2001 13:08

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:50.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.