Radiator Caps - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-02, 06:13 PM Thread Starter
Ex Member
 
Fairlane Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 717
Radiator Caps

How long do radiator cap's last?

every car ive owned has at one stage needed a new radiator cap...

My Ef 6 needed one at 150,000k's couldnt handle any pressure, was the original

and my Nf v8 needed one yesturday, at 90,000k's, it too couldnt handle any pressure and everything came out the little hose. I only found this out because of the "coolant low" warning light..

dam EF didnt have that warning and only found out when the temperature started rising....

The low coolant sensor should be something thats standard across the board. its realy insane not having one.

Fairlane Boy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-02, 06:24 PM
I want a turtle!
 
XR8chic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 2,635
I replaced my radiator cap for the first time at about 170k

isnt the low cooland sensor on all falcons?

FPV - Tickford Club of NSW
http://www.fpvclub.com
XR8chic is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-02, 06:28 PM
Australian XR6 Member
 
Sierra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 124
Re: Radiator Caps

Quote:
Originally posted by Fairlane Boy
dam EF didnt have that warning and only found out when the temperature started rising....

The low coolant sensor should be something thats standard across the board. its realy insane not having one.
Are you sure your EF doesn't have a warning light ??

I thought all EF models had one .... the EF XR does ......

EF Series I Manual XR6

XR8 & XR6 Owner's Club of Victoria Member
Sierra is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-02, 06:53 PM
GTHO4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The basic model ED Falcons did not have these sensors could be the same for EF's.
 
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-02, 08:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 3,102
BTW I found I could use my standard cooling system pressure tester for the screw on cap systems by simply attaching it to one of the small air bleed hoses that go to the radiator recovery tank and attaching and pinching another hose going to the recovery tank. If the cap had failed the pressure would drop before it should and you would hear the cap release the pressure. If the cap was good you could pressurise to max cap pressure to test for leaks elsewhere. When I priced an adapter to fit the screw on systems I found the cost more than my original Rex Colling System Pressure Tester.

Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-02, 11:07 PM
T5 Expert Operator
 
XR_Strider_GuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 3Fb Skunk Works(JXR01 Dev)
Age: 36
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally posted by gtho4
The basic model ED Falcons did not have these sensors could be the same for EF's.
I know the EF Series 1's don't have the sensor. Which is a bugger.

Motor May 2001 Quote: "Believe it or not, there are actually a bunch of weirdos out there who reckon a six cylinder is the dux gutz. Bugger it: I'm one of them" :s5

AUII Late Ed XR6 HP T5 Venom- Full Tickford Body Kit, 17in Wheels, Herrod Bi-plane Spoiler, Momo Steer/Gear, T-Series Interior Options, Premium Stereo and a very light-tuned 4.0L I6

(FPV-Tickford Club of NSW Member and Co-Founding Member of 3FB Inc, Ford Forums Food Bandits)
XR_Strider_GuY is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-03-02, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Ex Member
 
Fairlane Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 717
Au Forte's dont have them either.

my brother has one, his light keeps flickering on and off and theres not even a sensor there.

Unfortunatly with his next car purchase comming up, he will be going to the dark side & buying a "Heap of Shit Vehicle".

Best wishes
Fairlane Boy is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-03-02, 02:52 AM
a vile merchant
 
PigDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Geelong, Victoria
Posts: 714
My EF Fairmont 5L (series 1) definently has the sensor, not sure about the base models tho.
PigDog is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-03-02, 06:06 AM
goooone
 
Mr Jucy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: beyond caring
Age: 37
Posts: 2,708
i habe a sexy billet one that cost $50 or something stupid
Mr Jucy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome