relocate cruise - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2002, 06:42   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EB2Ghia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 695
confused relocate cruise

I want to change my steering wheel. The problem is that i have a EB series 2 fairmont ghia, with the factory cruise and leather wrapped wheel.... the problem is that how hard would it be to relocate the buttons? has anyone done this before?
EB2Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2002, 07:00   #2 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Where too?

What do u mean relocating the buttons? Do u mean to the dash somewhere or too the new steering wheel? Either way it could be done pretty easily. You would just need to run the 3 wires from the loom under the steering wheel. Alternatively you could make yer own buttons using a 330ohm and 1Kohm resistor and a diode. I can send u the schematics if u like...

Brent
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 07:04   #3 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Oooops

Grrrrrrr
meant to be a reply too "relocating cruise"

Brent
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 07:04   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EB2Ghia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 695
yeah i meant relocate them to somewhere else ...say next to the t bar... whats your button idea????

thanx for ya help
EB2Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 07:16   #5 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Does yer car have the auto antenna button?

Brent
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 07:19   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EB2Ghia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 695
yeah it does.
EB2Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 07:28   #7 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
ok...herez an idea 4 ya

move yer antenna button to the other side of the steering wheel.
make both button positions avaliable. Go to the wrecker and find 2 of the door switches like the one in the picture. Rub off the door/key picture on both buttons. Somehow (dunno how) mark one switch with on/off and the other with SET/RES. Using the schematic, wire in the 2 resistors and the diode to the switches then place them into the dash....

Breif discription but i reckon it would work.

Brent
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ghiadash2.jpg (2.1 KB, 43 views)
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 07:39   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EB2Ghia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 695
OK i do know a little about electronics, but why do you need the resistors and the diode? I thought since they were just switches i could just rewire them to alternate switches?.

anyhow thanks heaps for your help.
EB2Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 08:01   #9 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
The cruise switches on the steering hub have resistors built into them. You cant really use the ones from the ghia wheel cos they wont fit into the dash anywhere. When u press the ON button, a 12V pulse is sent to the cruise ECU which turns on the cruise function. When u press SET, the 330ohm resistor is momentaraly switched between the cruise ECU and ground.... this tells the cruise to maintain that speed. When RES is pressed, a 1Kohm resistor is switched between the terminals and so tells the ECU to disable set speed. When OFF is pressed, the ECU function pin is grounded and the system shuts off. The diode is in place here so that the cruise ECU isnt effected by the horn relay.
The button schematic is attached

Brent
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cruisecontrolschematic2.jpg (27.4 KB, 39 views)
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 15:38   #10 (permalink)
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,379
Let us know how you go with some pictures. I was thinking of getting a new wheel.

Or maybe get the current one leather wrapped.
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AUII Cruise Control Problem Venom XR General Tech 6 06-16-2003 08:49
March 1 FordForums Cruise FPV Weekend FM On the Road in Australia 140 03-04-2003 18:17
Ford Extends Offering of Delphi's Enhanced Adaptive Cruise Control For Jaguar Vehicle Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 08-30-2002 20:26
S.A Cruise.... fordfan351 On the Road in Australia 32 08-11-2002 15:58
VIC: August 11th FORD CRUISE DETAILS!! Bass Crazy On the Road in Australia 1 08-09-2002 22:37

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.