revs are slow to come down - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2002, 03:50   #1 (permalink)
Now boostless :-(
 
NAPARM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern NSW
Age: 32
Posts: 695
revs are slow to come down

when i rev my EF (with clutch in or in neutral) the revs go up smoothly but are slow to come back down. Also when i'm driving along and take my foot off the accelerator the car "pulls" along similar to what an automatic does.
i'm thinking maybe idle sensor,
Any other suggestions as to what it might be?

ps. car has a Chiptorque chip, could this have anything to do with it?
NAPARM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2002, 04:11   #2 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 61
Posts: 6,360
Check for vacuum leaks including hoses...
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 04:59   #3 (permalink)
Battens PerformanceTuning
 
EDxr8EBgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Western Australia (Perth)
Posts: 211
I had the same symptoms as yours when I was running a chiptorque chip in my ED 5.0 XR and when I sold the chip to my brother he had the same problem in his XR 5.0.
This would sugest that there was a program error or maybe they intended it that way. Who knows.
__________________
check out www.norcom.net.au/~bpt
EDxr8EBgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 05:00   #4 (permalink)
Battens PerformanceTuning
 
EDxr8EBgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Western Australia (Perth)
Posts: 211
Try removing the chip then see how it responds without it.
__________________
check out www.norcom.net.au/~bpt
EDxr8EBgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 05:32   #5 (permalink)
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 41
Posts: 3,585
Im not sure if the chip is doin it ... I have a chiptorque module & havent come across any probs whatsoever
__________________
FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 07:09   #6 (permalink)
Chromed Member
 
botch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: driving around with bent pushr
Posts: 1,810
could be the t.p.s - throttle position switch, which is mounted on the throttle butterfly. its a smal black plastic switch that has two screws and three wires into a single plug. there is an article in a thread somewhere that tells you how to check and adjust this switch. At idle (when your foots of the pedal) there should be a certain voltage across two of these wires at the switch.
also sometimes gunk will build up in the throttle body itself and when you take your foot off the gunk causes the butterfly to stay open just a little bit, which will suck air and give the wrong signal to the engine computer...clean it out with carby cleaner or contact cleaner.
:)
botch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 19:28   #7 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 61
Posts: 6,360
The t.p.s is electronic.The i.a.c Idle air control. The other part on the b/fly yes could be jamming with some crud in there..
What it also could be is runung rich and the eec is putting more air in there to reduce it a epa thing? So a combo of the two..
Check that the valve [p.v.c] hasn't come out at the back of the inlet manifold in the middle..
Can you replace the chip ??
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 06:52   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: here now!
Posts: 453
if this has just started, then yes there maybe something wrong. If this has been happening since you fitted the chip, then its probably in the chip program
To some degree this may be normal. the reason for the delay (or slow) return to idle is to help reduce hydrocarbon emmisions (unburned fuel)
batbo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 07:07   #9 (permalink)
eafalcon.com member
 
speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 236
I had the same problem until today. I replaced my Throttle Posotion Sensor (TPI) and it fixed the problem. If your car has a this sensor check it out.
__________________
Good by my EA S Pack


never late in a V8

comming soon
K&N air filter
XR8 intake snorkle
High flow exhaust/cats/hm headers
Clear front & side indicators
speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2002, 19:01   #10 (permalink)
E-Series Acting VP
 
Thanatos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 33
Posts: 1,432
I had the same problem and it turned out to be the power steering switch...


Have you tried putting the ECU into diagnostic mode and seeing what it tells you???



Dave
__________________

Thanatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Revs dropping too fast during changes. cArSiK General Tech 34 03-11-2003 03:50
I6 Revs slow to drop? EddyBigShoes Inline 6 Tech 5 12-09-2002 07:05
EA giving high revs... while driving!!! Troutman General Tech 6 07-31-2002 01:43
Why do the Revs drop? Griffyn General Tech 5 04-19-2002 00:25

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:49.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.