Running rich - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-06-03, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 45
Posts: 7,777
Running rich

I'm sure this has been gone through many times but indulge me please.

As many of you know I have an AU1 XR6 VCT that has had no modifications to the engine. What I have found (or suspect) is that the engine is running too rich. With heavy acceleration I seem to be getting a lot of unburnt fuel (brown hazy smoke) out of the exhaust.

Can anyone offer a simple fix to run the car a bit leaner?


Casper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-06-03, 07:39 PM
 
89F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albury, NSW
Posts: 1,012
Re: Running rich

Could it be a Oxygen sensor thats shot?
89F150 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-07-03, 12:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 27 00S 153 07E
Posts: 1,944
Re: Running rich

Coolant temp sensor. Get someone to pull the codes. That may point you in the right direction.
TopGhia is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-07-03, 01:00 AM
Serving Defect #3
 
fordfan351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 35
Posts: 1,108
Re: Running rich

As i understand the 4.0 runs pretty rich in it's basic programing, you can buy an adjustable regulator for the fuel pressure and lean it back, prolly give u 5-10kw gain.

At a recent Dyno meet here in SA, all the 6 owners who utilised the adjustable regulator saw hp gains.
fordfan351 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-07-03, 01:03 AM Thread Starter
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 45
Posts: 7,777
Re: Running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordfan351
As i understand the 4.0 runs pretty rich in it's basic programing, you can buy an adjustable regulator for the fuel pressure and lean it back, prolly give u 5-10kw gain.

At a recent Dyno meet here in SA, all the 6 owners who utilised the adjustable regulator saw hp gains.
Who/where can I find out more about this regulator?


Casper is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-09-03, 04:49 AM
Birth, Drift, Death...
 
Rollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 33
Posts: 3,039
Re: Running rich

you could get a standard one and put it on - XRs have 50kpa more pressure all the way through the range, so with a stocker it would lean it out

Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
*CLICK TO SEE MY XR6*
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-09-03, 05:12 AM
I Love Forced Induction.
 
BLWNEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 569
Re: Running rich

sounds like it could be the o2 sensor but take it to a dyno tuner he will be able to tell you whats wrong

IF YOU DONT TRY IT YOU WONT KNOW.
BLWNEB is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-09-03, 06:15 PM
Not a Twink
 
honer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,086
Re: Running rich

Hehehe Casper bet you wish you had an AF gauge now
honer is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-09-03, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 45
Posts: 7,777
Re: Running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by honer
Hehehe Casper bet you wish you had an AF gauge now
Why not get 2 of them??

That way I could look at the numbers, not have a clue what they mean, not be able to tune it even if I did, and look like a ricer at the same time. AND DO IT ALL IN STEREO!!!!

No, I think a A/F gauge is still rice :s6:


Casper is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-09-03, 06:43 PM
 
89F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albury, NSW
Posts: 1,012
Re: Running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casper
Why not get 2 of them??

That way I could look at the numbers, not have a clue what they mean, not be able to tune it even if I did, and look like a ricer at the same time. AND DO IT ALL IN STEREO!!!!

No, I think a A/F gauge is still rice :s6:
You'll have to take the back seat out... you'll have too much weight if you had two
89F150 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ea cfi running rich ? rabbi General Tech 3 05-25-03 11:26 PM
Running Rich THEONE General Tech 6 05-05-03 05:17 AM
EF V8 running very rich honer General Tech 7 04-04-03 02:59 PM
EB I6 running very rich...help! b-juggles Inline 6 Tech 4 08-18-02 06:16 PM
running rich ncspeed Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum 25 12-25-01 08:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome