S Pac Instrument Cluster - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-02, 10:21 PM Thread Starter
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 33
Posts: 2,494
S Pac Instrument Cluster

If I were to buy an EA S Pac instrument cluster and fit it to my EA will the Tacho work once plugged into the appropriate plug?
or would I have to fit the cable/wire to the gearbox also or is it already there?

Any help fitting one of these clusters would be much appreciated.....also, are they compatible with the 3 speed Auto?

I know it might seem pointless having a tacho in an Auto but it would be interesting to see what Revs the ol' girl sits on, on the highway....

Also I would like to fit it BEFORE I convert from the 4 speed to the 3 speed for a direct comparison at different speeds....


Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-02, 10:26 PM
WeReAmEyE
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 106
There is a pink wire under the bonnet on the drivers side. this wire is just in front of the brake booster. this is how it is in my car. but it is a manual. And this wire comes directly out of the coil. I know with the autos you will have to but a seperate unit. so u get the correct readings. Thats what they told me at the reckers any way.
FAT FALCON is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-02, 10:27 PM
1996 Manual EFII GLi
 
LittleJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane, AUS
Posts: 37
I have done it to my EA. All you have to do is find the pink Diag wire that is under the Brake Booster, run it through the firewall and the the back of the instrument cluster there are some screws. all you need to do is pull apart the dash see which screw corresponds to the Tacho Data Line and connect it up at the back. Easy as

LittleJon
LittleJon is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-02, 10:54 PM Thread Starter
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 33
Posts: 2,494
Cool thanks for the reply
Is your EA an Auto LittleJonEA?

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-02, 10:58 PM
1996 Manual EFII GLi
 
LittleJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane, AUS
Posts: 37
No but it should not make a difference cause they all have the same wiring loom i think. Just look for the pink wire in the diag cluster under the booster.

Jon
LittleJon is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-02, 11:50 PM Thread Starter
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 33
Posts: 2,494
yup I have seen the wire you are talking about....thanks again

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XG to XF instrument cluster conversion? falconS General Tech 7 12-12-03 02:26 AM
I need a picture of an XF instrument cluster. help! falconS General Tech 15 01-12-03 06:33 PM
Monaro series 2 pics FPRXR-6 The Pub 28 12-10-02 08:43 PM
Instrument cluster conversion TRIKFAB General Tech 0 03-31-02 03:29 PM
Instrument cluster Zomwit General Tech 8 03-12-02 05:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome