S-Pac Instrument Cluster into Fairmont Ghia - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2002, 06:53   #1 (permalink)
Fairmont Powah
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 20
Smile S-Pac Instrument Cluster into Fairmont Ghia

Hey guys, new to fordforums and figured I'd ask something that I've been wondering for quite some time now..

Is it possible to swap the Digital Dash in the Fairmont Ghia for a more traditional analogue instrument cluster from an S-Pac? Im not a big fan of the digital crap, all looks a bit too tacky for me

Cheers,
-Dave
EA_Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2002, 17:01   #2 (permalink)
donuts2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Uhh I don't know what is needed but I'd say you'd probably need to run a entire new wiring loom.

Umm... also could I buy your old dsh off you please? :s6:
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 17:03   #3 (permalink)
300+rwkw DC LTD Member
 
LTDHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne, Vic
Age: 39
Posts: 1,620
I think you need the body computer also. The oil sensor will need to be changed.
__________________
LTDHO
Power by Herrod 185rwkw
Power by me 313.6rwkw
Stereo by ///Alpine
LTDHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 18:12   #4 (permalink)
Fairmont Powah
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 20
Donuts, If I end up doing it then yer, but whole new wiring loom? eep

I was under the impression from a few posts I read about people doing the opposite of what I wanted to do that most of it would wire up without too much trouble, and i'd just need to run a couple extra sensors..

What does the body computer do? What sort of price would I be looking at to replace that? Where is it?
EA_Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 18:36   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Kenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 32
Posts: 2,061
I just replaced the instrument cluster in my EA, however I was going from a GL to an S-pak one.

All I had to do was run a wire from the Tacho signal wire through the firewall to the right pin at the back of the cluster, change the oil pressure sender and I still need a new coolant over-flow tank with sensor.

Because you have a Ghia I would imagine all you have to do is change the oil pressure sender. All of the others should work with no drama's so long as the loom plugs into the back of the S-pak cluster.
Kenaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 20:43   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 50
The EA ghia dash is beaut if if you get old, pissed or get bad eyesight. Thats why Im keeping mine.
Kevs EA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 05:31   #7 (permalink)
donuts2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You need a completely different wiring loom cos it all hooks up differently I'm pretty sure. The wiring diagram in the gregories manual shows 1 for the Ghia dash and one for the GL and S-Pac ones.

Does anyone here have a picture of a lit up Ghia dash? Do they look l33t?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 05:42   #8 (permalink)
Fairmont Powah
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 20
I wouldn't exactlysay 'l33t', but they look aight.. depends if you like that sort of stuff I guess, got a price on the white faced s-pac dials I was gunna buy (the whole reason i wanted to swap) and they were upwards of $200.. so now im prolly gunna stick with the ghia dash
EA_Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 13:51   #9 (permalink)
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 30
Posts: 2,494
S Pac Cluster

Sorry to take over the thread but...
Kenaz....can you tell me EXACTLY which pin on the plug you had to solder the wire to as I am about to fit an S-Pac cluster to my GL.
Is it on the top or bottom connector? etc etc

Thanks!
__________________
Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 18:02   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Kenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 32
Posts: 2,061
Re: S Pac Cluster

Quote:
Originally posted by SiX_iN_a_RoW
Sorry to take over the thread but...
Kenaz....can you tell me EXACTLY which pin on the plug you had to solder the wire to as I am about to fit an S-Pac cluster to my GL.
Is it on the top or bottom connector? etc etc

Thanks!
I think there was something like six pins free and it was the last one I tried! It was the bottom pin of the loom and it was the one on the right. Worked for me, hope that helps mate, good luck!
Kenaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
Holden Calais V8 vs Fairmont Ghia V8 review marktx5 Australian Falcons 8 07-14-2003 15:19
EA Fairmont Ghia to EB Fairmont Ghia Instruments... help XplodBoom General Tech 5 05-11-2003 01:31
BA Fairmont Ghia V8 review Go Auto sandmanls1 Australian Falcons 1 02-03-2003 22:45

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.